1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

What are the fertilizers required to grow healthy plants?

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by joe, Jan 20, 2010.

1. joe

joe New Member

Hi,

I am fairly new to this game, and was wondering what the essential chemical components required to grow healthy plants are? I have been studying the site, and have gathered much useful information on lighting, filtration, substrates, CO2 etc, (many thanks for your information) but really want to get to grips with what additives I need to be putting in the water.

I am going to be setting up a Amazonian style aquarium (260 litres), with lots of anubias, java ferns, mosses, etc, and plan to use RO water with Tropic Marin pro discuss remineraliser. Also is there one plant fertilizer that is a 'complete' fertilizer and do these plants have different requirements to other plants, in terms of the chemical additives they recieve?

Thanks for you help.

Joe

2. vanscheck

vanscheck New Member

try using excel, its great for all plants as a daily fert at least thats waht i read in the internet

3. Jurijs mit JS

Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

Seachem Excel is same as Easy Carbo
    Both are an alternative liquid carbon source, you can dose it additionaly to pressurized Co2

Tropica Plant Nutrition + is an all in one solution including Micro and Macro Elements.
    All plants require same nutrients but in different amount, depending on their growth rate.

Finaly dont forget to use a nutrient rich soil, such as Aquasoils from ADA

4. joe

joe New Member

Thats brillaint. Cant wait to get things underway :)

Thanks for your help!

Joe

5. Carolina

Carolina New Member