1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Vintage's ADA 45-F

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by Vintage, Jan 12, 2012.

1. Vintage

Vintage New Member

Hello all,
    I am starting my first aquarium, and ADA 45-f. I have had no experience in planted tanks prior, or any type of aquarium for that matter, but I am proud to say that I am starting out right. I've done my research, I believe I bought all the right equipment, I have an image of what I want this tank to look like, and I am confident I will be able to achieve it.

Here are the specs-
    Aquarium- ADA 45-F
    Lighting- Custom LEDs (4-3w CW Crees, run for 10 hrs a day)
    Ferts- DIY (NPK & Trace)
    Co2- DIY
    Plants- I haven't gotten them yet, planning on HC and Rotala Rotundifolia
    Fauna- Small school of tetra (haven't decided what kind yet) Couple Oto's, maybe Cherry shrimp down the road.

I promise I'll take pictures later today, but I have a couple questions in the meantime
    -Is a 2 liter bottle of DIY Co2 too much?
    -Any recommendations on mixing ferts?
    -How high above the tank should I hang my light? (right now its about 6" off, and it looks pretty good, is this about right?)

Thanks all,
    Hayden

Sponsored link:

2. Jurijs mit JS

Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

Hi,
    nice to tank you start with :proud:
    -2 Liter bottle is for DIY Co2 is fine
    -go for Estimative Index
    -6" should be ok

3. Vintage

Vintage New Member

Ok thanks I'll take your advice.

4. Vintage

Vintage New Member

Pictures-

My First FTS 8)
    [​IMG]

Behind the rock "cliff" If plan to have a neatly trimmed garden of Rotala Rotundifolia, and for the rest I want an open area of HC. Maybe Riccia Fluitans at the base of the rocks.

Details of the Rocks-
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The ADA seams are excellent
    [​IMG]