1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Total Novice First Tank

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by Di Sen, Jan 14, 2015.

1. Di Sen

Di Sen New Member

Hello All,

I've just come across these forums and noticed the community here seems very welcoming and helpful. I'm a Canadian from Vancouver BC, living and working in Shanghai. A few months ago I came across an aquascaping video on Reddit and was blown away by the mixture of art, biology, creativity, and personal expression that goes into this hobby.

I just a week ago decided to try my hand at a planted tank (I've never owned a fish tank in my life). I would really love to get some guidance from some more experienced aquascapers as I am finding the sheer amount of information on the topic a little overwhelming.

Please have a look at my tank, which was planted 5 days ago, I'm not sure if the following info is relevant:

• I'm using a Japanese substrate called Pure Soil Black
    • My tank is 20L
    • When I filled it up I added a few treatments (2ml) each, but as I'm located in China and not totally fluent in Chinese I'm not 100% sure what they are and if I need them.
    1. The first is called "Water Quality Stabilizer" and the English portion says it "Clears new water's Chlorine and heavy metal Toxins
    2. The second is called "Condensep Plant Nutrients" and contains "Important Macro Nutrients" and claims to "encourage rich green leaves"
    3. The Third is called "Bzo Bacteria" and contains "yeast and beneficial fungi" and "Removes harmful elements such as; Ammonia, Nitrate, and Hydrogen Sulfide."
    My goals for this tank are to learn the basics of water management and plant cultivation. Ok, I think my post is getting to long and I don't want to hit you guys with a wall of text. So many things to learn!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Glomeridae likes this.