1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Sump filtration

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by David B. Diehl, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    Have converted 10 gal tank to sump filter. Currently have a Aqueon AQ2300 in filter, way to much power for tank 317-608 gpm. Even at lowest setting it is ripping my moss off the driftwood. Will probably downsize to an AQ1200 106-317 gpm. My Cobalt canister said it pumped at 210 gpm, which I dought was in the tank. Since moved back to 55 gal tank. Tank sump uses twice the amount of medium and filtration pictured here. Sump filtration.jpg
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David is this the pump you are referring to?

    http://www.marineandreef.com/Aqueon_QuietFlow_Submersible_Pump_1200_AQ1200_p/res06618.htm

    The Aqueon QuietFlow Submersible Utility Pump 1200 is high performance multi-use utility pump that is quiet, versatile and low maintenance. The flow rate can be adjusted from 106 to 317 gph.

    Features:
    • Model AQ1200
    • Submersible use only
    • 106 to 317 gph
    • Max head: 69"
    • 21 watts
    • 1/2" output connection (w/ 3/4" hose adapter)
    • Includes suction cups
    [​IMG]
    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  3. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    Yes, currently have an AQ2300, sump works with it but just to much flow. Also just doubled the amount of ceramic media. Filter sits along side tank.
     
  4. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David if you can increase the fine filter medium it "might" slow the rate down just a whisker for you.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  5. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    Tried that, the pump emptied the tank faster than it could refill
     
  6. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    Just going to have to get a smaller pump
     
  7. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David I was only thinking of a temporary fix and it looks like it would not work.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  8. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    I trimmed all the moss for the 55 gal tank. Can run the pump if needed, right now have fountain pump for circulation. Also did 1/4 water change just in case.
     
  9. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David looks like you will have it solved sooner rather than later.

    Aquariums can be a big learning curve sometimes, one thing for certain you never stop learning.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  10. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    With getting better if I set up my 250 gal I will use this pump on it. Have had to thin out some plants and trim. Other than that it's hard to keep hands off. Do have one word of advise for ludwiggia repens, when you plant it trim it in half. Grows back three times as thick and not as tall.
     
  11. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Aquatic Plants

    I think that would be a good posting in the Aquatic Plants topic.

    David I have noticed that with some garden plants. When I was planting Crypts I would remove any damaged leaves and about 50% of the roots and let them float for a few weeks and never a melt down after replanting.

    Keith:cat::cat:


     
  12. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    I have found that Malaysian trumpet snails are pushing the larger Eco-complete up threw the white sand. Almost all surface is now mixed. I tried that but the fish started eating the hair roots, the anubias roots started turning green and the java fern got all tangled up. Found a good way to trim Christmas fern is not to cut but gently pull some off. Looks better too, but make sure you get it all up. Had fern growing everywhere.
     
  13. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David

    That is one of the major concerns with the top white substrate. You now have two choices leave it alone or remove as much of the white you can and top it up with same Eco-complete.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  14. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    Probably just going to leave it as is.
     
  15. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David

    Can you post a photo of your tank please I am interested to what the snails have done plus your Aquascape.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  16. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    First 3 photos are tank, it used to be all white sand. 4th photo is the culprits. 5th is half of whitesand 1.jpg whitesand 2.jpg whitesand 3.jpg snails.jpg new 55 gal setup.jpg the new setup for 55 gal
     
  17. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David there is nothing you can do with that until you are ready to redo the tank and use all new substrate.

    The 55g its not an Aquascape are you going to have a natural wild planted tank.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  18. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    What is the difference, figured I would give them room to fill in. Made that mistake the first time in the 55 gal. This is the other side, will add moss later plus a "tree" in the middle. Also be adding some rocks when snow melts or find a supplier. new setup 55 gal .jpg
     
  19. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    David

    Landscape suppliers are usually the best to try they always have a very large variety/sizes to sell.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  20. David B. Diehl

    David B. Diehl Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Indiana United States
    The ones around here just have sandstone with holes drilled in them.
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: