1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Substrate for a beginner 15 gallon planted tank?

Discussion in 'Substrate' started by Bigs, Nov 5, 2013.

1. Bigs

Bigs New Member

I have a 15 gallon tank in which I want to have plants like Java fern, Anubias and would also like to add Java moss on driftwood. The substrate choices available here are Fluval and amazonia. But amazonia is pricey.If I want to have a substrate thickness of 5cm(2 inches), how many kilograms, of which substrate should I buy?
    Since I am new to this, I would like to grow plants which are hardy and are not too sensitive to pH difference, do not require CO2 either entirely or can do with a homemade yeast+sugar co2 system.
    Also,will a lighting of 3-4 watts per gallon suffice for this aquarium?
    Please advise.
    Thanks...:)

Sponsored link:

2. greenfinger 2

greenfinger 2 Active Aquascaper

Hi Bigs, With your plant choice:cool: You could use simple gravel. As the plants all grow on DW add the moss fab:D And if you want grow some plants in the gravel put some root tabs in (y)Hope this helps Others will know more;)

keithgh, Bigs and ShadowMac like this.
  3. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

I agree with greenfinger. The plants you chose do not root into the substrate, so any simple inert large grain sand or gravel would do just fine. I recommend using a water column fertilizing routine, nothing fancy but something as simple as Seachem Flourish dosed per the bottle instructions would be enough.

Bigs likes this.
  4. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html

Bigs that will help you use it as a guide only

Substrate is a minefield its a work backwards thing first you work out the plants and the shape of the Substrate for the Aquascape.