1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Shrimp and fert

Discussion in 'Shrimp and Invertz' started by youngsai, May 7, 2008.

  1. youngsai

    youngsai New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlantic highlands, nj
    hello everyone,

    I'm new to this forum and aquascaping as a whole, but all the people have been very friendly and the info super helpful so I just wanted to say thanx a million 8)...
    Anyways my question is, I am thinking about fertilzing with this Kent Freshwater Plant Supplement 16 oz so i could help move along the process of my hc carpeting...problem is I have amano shrimp and this contains Copper, which I know will cause the shrimp a painful death, but is there a limit to the copper, is this stuff safe to give in the allotted recommended or is any amt of copper bad for the shrimp. Any advise would be awesome.
     
  2. Pat7676

    Pat7676 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Jackson, Mississippi
    You don't want to dose dry ferts? Whats your lighting? CO2?
     
  3. youngsai

    youngsai New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlantic highlands, nj
  4. youngsai

    youngsai New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlantic highlands, nj
    oh, also wut is a good dry fert to use?
     
  5. Pat7676

    Pat7676 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Jackson, Mississippi
    There about 3 kinds that you use there are some good articles in the monthly magazine on this. I think last months EI Method. Also our sponcer on the top of the page has some dry ferts if you decide to get some.
     
  6. youngsai

    youngsai New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlantic highlands, nj
    cool, thanx alot Pat...Do you have any idea about the co2 question I posed 3 posts up??? Kinda stalled on the co2 project till I have a definite on this...
     
  7. John N.

    John N. Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    California
    It's kinda of funny, I haven't heard of people using Kent in a long time. Anyways, you'll be fine dose the Kent fertilizer.

    As for the C02 reactor, I haven't tried it, but I'm sure it'll be good to use on a 10 gallon tank. Too much can usually be controlled by not injecting as many bubbles per second, or raising the spray bar to add a little surface aggitation.

    -John N.
     
  8. youngsai

    youngsai New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlantic highlands, nj
    allright giving the co2 a try this weekend, thanx for the info John, much appreciated
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: