1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

"Pearls of the Antilles" llj's Macro-algae/Reef scape

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by lljdma06, Jun 29, 2011.

1. lljdma06

lljdma06 New Member

"Pearls of the Antilles" llj's Planted Marine - 11/26 photos

Hi everyone! I've been keeping FW fish for about 22 years, the last five of which have been focused exclusively on Planted tanks. I do think, however, that the time is right to begin a saltwater journey. After all, I do live in Miami, FL and it is actually easier to setup a SW system here than a planted tank! Try and figure that one out, but it's true. You can find a LFS around the corner that sells lovely frags, but ask for a pot of HC and you'll get a funny look! :ehhh:

My parents are Cuban and for the name of this system I drew on an old reference to Cuba as the "Pearl of the Antilles". For this system, I'm restricting myself to species that are found in the Caribbean and we'll throw in Florida too, as it's the place where my family currently lives. You have to throw in challenges in a system and I think resisting the urge to make it a blend of species from different parts of the world is a good challenge. The second challenge for this system will be a heavy emphasis on Macro algae, so yes, in essence, this will be a planted Marine, rather than confine the lovely macro species to a refugium. Will keep some corals as well. So this is what I have so far...

Tank: 36g corner bowfront, 21" deep, 21" radius

Lighting: Going with 2 x 65 CF fixture and 2 x 14W NOT5, so 158W. These are from old planted systems and I've already changed the bulbs for SW bulbs (10k & Actinic) I think it's plenty for what I want. Will buy a clip-on moonlight & a red LED to watch nightime critters.

Skimmer: Think I'll go with the Hydor slim nano. My friends rave about it and I think it'll fit nicely.