1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Newbie from uk!

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by lee82, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Lee
    In theory yes but personally I would not worry unless the plants are shallow rooters.

    Keith:):)
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Right guys.....first mock up

    Comment/critisism welcome :notworthy:
    20140226_200611.jpg
     
  3. aliclarke86

    aliclarke86 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Likes Received:
    68
    Can you get a shot front on centre?

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
     
  4. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Here u go....

    20140226_201640.jpg
     
  5. aliclarke86

    aliclarke86 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ok mate it looks like you have the 3 largest rocks at equal spacing throughout. U think the 2 largest rocks need moving slightly closer together and I think that the third rock should also be moved closer to the centre and spun around to face the same way as the centre stone, the gravel is also a lot deeper at the front right that front left this should be opposite ......maybe but then that might look rubbish :-D

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
     
  6. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    You sed that and i already thought it...hows this...im liking it alot

    20140226_202845.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  7. aliclarke86

    aliclarke86 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Likes Received:
    68
    I think that looks better mate feels more flowing and natural :)

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
     
  8. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Yeh im happy with the layout,my only concern is the left hand slope is abt 7cm at the highest point and just worried that any plants wont reach the plant substrate underneath.
    I do have sum root tabs but worried abt when i come to plant the hairgrass
     
  9. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Lee

    I like the way you have set it up now I would have done something very similar.

    Use a quality fert tab like Seachem at the recommended dosage plus some liquid ferts will certainly help.

    Keith:):)
     
  10. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Ive got some liquid carbon and root tabs so im hoping itll be enough

    Im tempted to put another layer of plant substrate mid height of the slope just to help
     
  11. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Lee
    It will not hurt any way, its worth a try.

    Keith:):)
     
  12. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Was thinking...what abt if i mix abit of an all in one substrate with the gravel?
     
  13. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Well here goes...up and cycling!

    20140301_191930.jpg 20140301_192003.jpg

    Comments/critique welcome
     
    keithgh and greenfinger 2 like this.
  14. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    A quick question..

    This is only my 2nd time at attempting to cycle a tank..im still scared abt doing a good job of it.
    Now ive added some seeded water from my other tank by squeezing the filter sponge into my new tank and ive also added nutrifin cycle additive to help...now there lots of info but lots of opinions too which makes it confusing exactly whats best
    .....so whats your opinions plz? Fish in? Fishless?
     
  15. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Lee

    I see you have asked this question in "Water Chemistry" to stop any confusion and double ups would you like me to delete the above post?

    Keith:):)
     
  16. aliclarke86

    aliclarke86 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Likes Received:
    68
    Personally I go with heavy planting and fish/shrimp about 2 weeks later.....

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
     
  17. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Only thing is i dont want a heavily planted tank,ive heard adding a single fish flake crushed up will aid the cycling process?
     
  18. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,746
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Lee
    I am referring to very cheap plants that you can throw away/sell when the tank is fully Cycled.

    There are plenty of "Additives" that have been used over the years and many can slow the Cycling process down, or cause other concerns.

    Keith:):)
     
  19. lee82

    lee82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    England
    Think im just going to go for the adding ammonia approach

    I tested my parameters yesterday 24hrs after initial set up and ammonia was at roughly 0-0.25 ppm...no nitrites or nitrates
     
  20. aliclarke86

    aliclarke86 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Likes Received:
    68
    Where has this ammonia come from? Did you add it? If the soil is leaching it out then you don't need to add anymore as that will start the N cycle

    Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: