1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Newbie from uk!

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by lee82, Feb 2, 2014.

1. lee82

lee82 New Member

Im lee from england,uk

Im fairly new to aquariums,i currently have a fluval edge 46l tank that ive been running for the last 9/10 months with 5 neon tetras,2 black leopard guppies,4 glowlight tetras,2 red cherry shrimp and 10 assasin snails.

Its my birthday in 2 weeks and my fiancee bought me a fluval roma 125ltr tank,
    Now ive recently become a fan of aquascaping/iwagumi and currently trying to do alot of research into it, my first question is....being fairly new to aquariums with so far minimal knowledge and experience, would it be ok to try something simple and would the tank with the original t8 lighting and fluval u3 filter enable me to introduce myself into the aquascaping/iwagumi aspect of aquariums?
    Im only wanting to try something simple with maybe a 1 or 3 stones with eleocharis parvula as a carpet on like a island with it circled by gravel.
    Does that seem simple enough for my novice skills?

My 2nd question is..how important is co2 in aquascape/iwagumi tank? Im guessing it would depend on plant types and amount of plants in the aquarium?
    For the moment id like to avoid going down that route till my confidence grows.

Any feedback/advice is greatly apprieciated

Thanks lee

Ps....this is similar to what i would like to do image.jpg

Ian likes this.

Sponsored link:

2. chiangstar

chiangstar Aspiring Aquascaper

Hi Lee,

Welcome to ASW! I think you are on the right track with starting slow and learning as much as you can first. Use this forum as much as you can to gain as much knowledge you can before diving in.

Re: T8 lighting, I would use it first as it can be enough depending on your plant choice. You can always upgrade in the future if need be.