1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

New to forums: Substrate won't grow my plants :(

Discussion in 'Substrate' started by cooledwhip, May 7, 2016.

  1. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    I'm sure it doesn't matter too much the order.
    Bottom basket I have 3o ppi, 20 ppi, and micro filtration pads, middle basket I have bio media (ceramic and the ones from API, the stars) , and in the top basket I have more ceramic things. They dont fill up to the top but its fine right? I don't want them to crack or something if they are being moved around.
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    cooledwhip

    What are you concerned that could crack?

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  3. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    The ceramic fluval bio media things.

    Also I am positioning the intake and output for the canister. I have the intake in the back left corner, and I am considering putting the VERTICAL spraybar OUTPUT in the back right corner. Would that work? I can't have the tubes coming up from the back so they will need to come out from the sides and then hook into the input/output things.
     
    ShadowMac likes this.
  4. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    cooledwhip

    If they were going to break it would happen long before you bought them.

    I am not saying it cannot be done but its not the normal thing to do.

    Can you post a few photos showing exactly what you would like to do.

    Keith :cat::cat:
     
  5. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    Yes so you can see that i have both in the same corner now. I actually moved the output spray bar into the right side by the back. I also plan on buying a wave maker too. I don't know if it will be bad to put an intake or output towards the front of the tank.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,211
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    You shouldn't need a wave maker. That position looks good and what I would do

    sent from tapatalk on my phone so auto correct and other errors are bound to happen
     
  7. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,211
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Order of media does matter. Filter order. Largest mechanical pad the one with the biggest spaces. Then a layer of the ceramic rings, then next mechanical pad pad, then bio media, last micron filter pad.

    sent from tapatalk on my phone so auto correct and other errors are bound to happen
     
    keithgh likes this.
  8. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    Position as in the picture or intake on left output on right?

    I was told not to use pads after the first box.

    I have:
    Pads on bottom, largest holes to smallest, then to micro. After that I have the ceramic, then the bio stars, then more ceramic.
     
  9. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,211
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    That will work too

    sent from tapatalk on my phone so auto correct and other errors are bound to happen
     
  10. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    what will work.... the way I have it in the picture... or where the input is on the left and output on the right?

    I'm going to assume its the setup where I have the intake on left and output on right.
     
  11. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,211
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    I meant the filter media. Either way for intake and output. Just don't stack up plants and hardscape over them to ensure they are not obstructed

    sent from tapatalk on my phone so auto correct and other errors are bound to happen
     
  12. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    Ok so I can't have the intake behind the driftwood? Wouldn't it be ugly in front of the tank?
     
  13. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,211
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    You are going to have to use some judgement. You shouldn't obstruct it so much the flow is inhibited

    sent from tapatalk on my phone so auto correct and other errors are bound to happen
     
  14. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    I'll just put the intake in the back left corner behind the driftwood. If it becomes a problem I can move it.

    Also I just figured I might as well ask your opinion- I don't think it's important enough for its own thread- I have an old 2.5 gallon lying around so I decided to make a 3D background for it. I have the styrofoam siliconing right now, it's about an 1.5-2 inches thick. I plan on putting a betta in it or some shrimp, stocking doesn't matter too much atm. Do you have any ideas on how I can make the 3d background? Any ideas on shape? It will cover the entire back wall of the tank
     
  15. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    Also should I use a white background or black background ? This is the setup with the intakes and outputs. I don't want any tubes showing.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    cooledwhip

    Working from the filter inlet it is usually the largest media including filter pads to the finest so the last filter pad removes the finest of particles then into the outlet.

    That is a new one on me. What are the instructions given with the filter?

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
    ShadowMac likes this.
  17. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    cooledwhip

    A good place to start is Google hunt for making an Aquarium background over the years I have seen various videos.

    If you have a black background it will hide the inlet and outlet a little, in not hunt for green or glass tubing.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  18. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,211
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    I completely agree with Keith.

    sent from tapatalk on my phone so auto correct and other errors are bound to happen
     
    keithgh likes this.
  19. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Shawn I am positive all experienced Aquarium keepers would also agree its nothing but common filtration practice.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
    ShadowMac likes this.
  20. cooledwhip

    cooledwhip New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    chicago
    Ok thanks I will do a black background.

    Also I can't find pool filter sand. Is it only available online? I went to an outdoor leisure store that specializes in pools.

    Also what about the lights Shawn and Keith? Thanks
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: