1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

New here.

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by Think_Easy, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi

    Can i do it or is it to extreem?
    If i buy it i can use only 6 six t5 lights.
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. dg2606

    dg2606 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Well a 80x45x45 tank is approximately 43 us gallons, if my calculations are correct. The light you suggested 4x24 would have 96watts. Making your watts per gallon 2.24 (96w/43g). This is good, not too extreme. If you notice algae starting up you could take bulbs out to reduce output or reduce photo period.
     
  3. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    But can i do it or not? I was thinming 3x 830 philips and 3x 865 philips and 2x purple t5 for the color of the fishes. Or only the 3x830 or 3x865. If i do only the do the 3x 830 and 3x 865 i come out on= 0.96W / Liter.
     
  4. Shadow

    Shadow Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Singapore
    Sure can, sun light is even much brighter :).

    The problem with light is if you put more light, plant will grow faster unfortunately that goes for algae as well. So if you have high light wattage and your fertilizer and CO2 dosing can't keep up with demand, algae will take over in a flash. What you need to do is to make sure enough fertilizer and CO2 for the plants and algae will stay away. I recommend Estimate Index dosing regime.
     
  5. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thx for the information!
    Can i do it for a time without co2? IF i put every week some easylife profito in the aquarium?
     
  6. Jurijs mit JS

    Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Germany
    it is better you wait until you have everything and start then ;)
     
  7. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I do this: I buy 4x 24 W t5 A new co2 system and a extern filter :D
    I can buy the extra light later.
     
  8. dg2606

    dg2606 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    With Co2 you will need to fertilize the plants also to help keep algae at bay.
     
  9. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  10. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My new aquarium is now 70x50x45 4x 18W T8. Is this good ?
     
  11. Think_Easy

    Think_Easy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Not much reactions here on this forum =[
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: