1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

My First

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by altaaffe, Jul 12, 2008.

1. altaaffe

altaaffe New Member

Hi all, I said - I'm new to plants but was determined to give my CPDs a home to be happy of. This is my first attempt at an aquascape.

Tank is 180l, 100 x 40 x 45 cm
    CO2 80bpm, pH 6.5 -7, kH 4

Fish:
    Celestial Pearl Danios
    Amano shrimp
    Otocinclus

Plants:
    Sagittaria Subulata
    Eleocharis Vivipara
    Glossostigma Elatinoides
    Heteranthera Zosterifolia
    Luwigia Natans & Mullerti
    Lindernia Rotundiflora
    Rotala Rotundifolia
    Alternathera Rosaefolia
    Eichhornia Azurea
    Aponogeton Crispus
    Crypt Blassii
    Lilaeopsis brasiliensis

The idea was to give the CPDs a wall of tall plants across the full length of the back wall to hide and spawn in and at the same time have a tank that I enjoyed looking at (in my dining room). I've learnt a lot since then & would do things a lot differently, but please, all comments greatly received for the future.

[​IMG]
    startup had to be done over 3 days, as I waited for different suppliers to get plants to me.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Things started off OK and then the dreaded algae problem raised it's head.
    [​IMG]
    I ended up with a stable (and I thought passable tank until visiting here) until I went away to Canada for 3 weeks, my CO2 bottle emptied into the tank almost killing the occupants the day after I left. Of course 3 weeks without CO2 gave it's own problems but things are recovering now.
    I've started giving it shape with trims now but don't have photos yet.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. waterfaller1

waterfaller1 New Member

It's grown in very nice.

3. Wingsdlc

Wingsdlc New Member

The stems are really nice and thick! The one thing I would like to see is a much stronger mid ground.

4. Bunbuku