1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

My first nano iwagumi.

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by Asthaparhim, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    This is what I mean with the HC having some grey leaves.
    I'll keep the curtains closed then, the wheater is also getting worse now so the sun won't show up that much anymore.
    Thank you for your help again.
     
    keithgh likes this.

    Sponsored link:


  2. Garuf

    Garuf Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Leeds, England.
    Up the co2 and trim that greyed area out.
     
  3. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    It's not going as it should be. I've pulle almost all brown hairgrass out of my tank, also cut the most to the substrate.
    My HC is brown and melting. I've got very high co2 (yellow dropchecker), I really don't know what I'm doing wrong
    maybe fluctuating CO2 levels at the start of my start? Or maybe I had to remove those brown parts faster? Some of the
    brown hairgrass are lying in and between the HC, but I can't get them out well, I already tried to pull them out but in most
    cases the HC will come up too. Here are some fast pictures of how it looks like right now, just after cleaning and cutting (week 4 of flooding).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Advice and help are very welcome!
     
    keithgh likes this.
  4. Ed Villagracia

    Ed Villagracia Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Likes Received:
    765
    Location:
    PHILIPPINES
    looks not good sorry to see this.
    i don't know if your HC's are full of algae or dying....if this is my tank. i will reset it
    but,.........let us hear other opinion and learn from them.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  5. ianho

    ianho Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Firstly nice scape...looks like you're going through a diatom stage to me. I would lower the light intensity, or photoperiod, do more water changes and get some shrimp and otto's in there. Stick with it, you can win!
     
    keithgh likes this.
  6. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Mmm oke thanks, I'll lower the lighting time from 7 to 6 hours and I'll try to get some amano's. If it will keep dying I will reset my scape and start one without drystart.
    The drystart worked well for my HC but I think it's not really suitable for HG, a part of my HG died because of the drystart and even more after flooding.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  7. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I switched the outflow and inflow (as you can see on the last picture), there is much more circulation on the surface now.
    Can not enough surface circulation also have any negative effects?
     
    keithgh likes this.
  8. severumkid

    severumkid Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    India
    Try to understand what is going wrong, Diatoms should not be a major problem, a group of Ottos will clear the diatoms in no time. Do lots of water changes, dose N more. Lowering light is not what I would do, rather I would hike up the Co2 and add ferts in a steady routine.

    Nice rocks you got there.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  9. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I have just lowered the co2 in a steady routine (was very high) so I can add some otto's and maybe shrimps. I'll do some more water changes then and add a bit more ferts.
    I've also noticed a little bit green (and brown?) hair algae.
    Thank you for your comments.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  10. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Just bought 5 otto's got them in my tank right now hope they can clear the algae :)
     
    keithgh likes this.
  11. gmartins

    gmartins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Portugal
    Don't give up just yet. Plants are adapting to the new conditions. Do not lower your light. It ain't that high. Make sure you CO2 levels are high. Try to improve circulation so that CO2 gets to the bottom where HC is. Make more frequent water changes and add ferts. Remove algae as much as possible. Keep the tank clean. Stick to the schedule and wait 2-3 weeks to see if there are improvements.

    GM
     
    keithgh likes this.
  12. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Oke thanks, I'll higher the lighting again to my previous level, 7 hours and I'll do some more water changes (twice a week?)
    The otto's cleaned alot of brown algae , but I'm scared if I crack up the CO2 too much, the fish will die.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  13. gmartins

    gmartins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Portugal
    This is a rather small tank. Why not change water every other day for a week or two?

    Easy with cracking CO2 up. Do it slowly, a bit every day, and pay attention to fish. If they are gasping at the surface lower it immediately to the level of the previous day.

    Excel (or the kind) can also be a great help when CO2 is already high for fish.

    Also, not sure how true it is, but it has been said that cuba grows best at lower temps. I've grown cuba at 15ºC with great success but not sure this was due to temp.

    GM
     
    keithgh likes this.
  14. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'll lower the temperature then, got it on 22 C, ill put it to 20C.
    But the problem is, I've had very high co2 (yellow dropchecker) since the setup of my aquarium.
    The algae came when I had this high CO2, I lowered it a bit so I could add some otto's, I've also ordered some mini japonica's, but
    got to wait 2 weeks till I have them. I have been dosing a sort of excel before the algae came so I really don't know where they came from.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  15. gmartins

    gmartins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Portugal
    Are you using the drop-checker with 4dKH water? If you are using with the water from tank, than it is pointless. Excess of CO2 never harms plants or triggers algae. The only problem with excess of CO2 is the fauna.

    Resume the use of excel. If algae appeared when you stopped dosing this may mean that you do have insufficient carbon.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  16. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No I'm using an external cal aqua dropchecker with cal aqua co2 indicator solution.
    I'll keep dosing liquid fertilizer (I started dosing when the algae appeared and stopped when the fish got in).
     
    keithgh likes this.
  17. Garuf

    Garuf Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Leeds, England.
    bare in mind that it's the co2 level at the substrate you need to worry about, at the surface it's going to be more inriched and easily give you a false result.
     
  18. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Maybe I've got these algae because of a lack of flow on the surface?
    Does this look like black algae?
    [​IMG]

    Fast picture how the tank looks like right now, not much left.

    [​IMG]

    I think I give up, already removed all the hairgrass in the back. But I want to be sure if I make a new scape this won't happen again.

    Thanks for your help.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  19. Alex

    Alex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Germany Rüsselsheim
    Hi!

    It is just a guess, but I have a Duo Boy 26 W. And I really don’t find this light great. On my 30ltr cube I used to run 2 Arc Pod 11W, then decided for an aesthetic reason to go for a single unit. So I chose the Duo Boy…. Results HC melting, plants stopping to grow and algae started to kick off.
    After that I put this light on a 20ltr cube low tech (Easy Carbo, Plant Growth Specialised from Tropica). But nothing was growing so after few weeks put back one the 11W Arc Pod I had laying around, and it is ok, slow but ok.
    I know one of the tank of the month run those lights, but if I remember he use different bulbs…
     
    keithgh likes this.
  20. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yes I saw that tank, he was using the same as mine, maybe diffrent bulbs then? I'll look around maybe I can find some.

    *But during the drystart the HC grew very good.
     
    keithgh likes this.

Share This Page

Sponsored link: