1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

My 55g

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by cody1250x, Oct 4, 2014.

1. cody1250x

cody1250x New Member

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] tell me what you think about my tank. This is really my first attempt at aquascaping. Fish: 3 discus 15 neons 3 cardinal tetras ( discus ate the rest lol) 3 ottos 6 rummynose tetras 1 bristle nose pleco and 1 sword tail. Equipment: cascade 1000 canister filter 2 150w heaters 4 2ltr diy co2 reactors. Substrate is a mix of pool filter sand eco complete and flora max + root tabs. any coments will b appreciated

Glomeridae likes this.
  2. EChord

EChord Aspiring Aquascaper

Surprised nobody commented - might want to try posting in tank journal next time since ppl may not realize you want feedback in this category. :) Anywho - I'll give it a whirl, though I'm no expert. First off - nice fish! The discus look very nice, and plants all look pretty healthy and happy too, which is always the most important thing. :) I do think you need a couple layout changes to make the tank really sing.

The plant in the center (sword?) needs to move, I think, and/or have those large side leaves trimmed off. It feels like it's pulling the scape off balance right now. Maybe move it more to the left, between the two pieces of wood, and bring the wood a bit closer together and/or add a third piece. I'd also try to level out the substrate in the center front of the tank. Since rest of the tank is so level, the hill almost seems accidental. You could also build the substrate up in the back a bit more, to bring some extra depth.

That's all I have for the moment - hope you found that useful!

Glomeridae likes this.
  3. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

Cody

I try to look at all posts and post a comment but for some reason it looks like I missed your post as did other members.