1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Low tech tank starter kit

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by Ohly, Jun 7, 2013.

1. Ohly

Ohly Aspiring Aquascaper

hi,

i'm really new to the aquascaping, i've had fish in the past but the minimal thing: sand, filter and water ...

but now, i want to dive into aquascaping, but i'm confused about what equipement is important to a planted aquarium.

did i really need a CO2 kit? did i need a specific substrate?

also, i dont know what to plant in this first aquascaping try.. please give me ideas. or point me somewhere to go.

i plan to use a 5 gallon tank that would be 9inches X 9inches X 12inches ( because i'll build it)

or should i use a bigger tank like a 10 gallon or more even ?

because what i want to, is a little tank where to get used to some techniques, plant growth, and equipement like all around CO2.

Advices needed

Ohly

2. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

I think a 5 gallon is a little small to try and get the hang of things. 10 gallons would be better, in my opinion.

For a low tech starter tank you really only need the right lighting. If it is a 10 gallon tank I would recommend one T8 daylight bulb, I think the ones for that size are 18 watts.

I recommend a nutrient rich substrate like ADA aquasoil, however it isn't necessary. Instead you could do some large grained sand, people have even used pool filter sand, which is very cheap from your local hardware store. Just be sure to rinse it a few times so you can get rid of fine dust particles. If you use the sand it has zero for plants to feed on, so I would place some root fertilizer tabs every 4 inches or so along the bottom before putting the sand over it.