1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Light for hemianthus callitrichoide

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plants' started by Son Quang, Feb 1, 2017.

1. Son Quang

Son Quang New Member

Hello,
    I'm new at Aqua Scaping. I am interested in fish and aquarium since I was a child, but until now I have chance to set up my own planted tank. I started this last Thursday with hemianthus callitrichoides and eleocharis mini. I think they are growing but the hemianthus callitrichoides( HC) is look like growing vertical instead of horizontal. I'm wonder whether the light am using is enough because I read some information said the the HC will grow vertical if they don't have enough light. By the way, I'm using LED and my tank is 20"L x10"D x12"H. Thanks you.
    IMG_1059.PNG IMG_1058.JPG

2. Son Quang

Son Quang New Member

I turn the light for 10 hours a day (4 hours- rest 2 hours- 6 hours), I also use Co2 for three bubbles/ sec

3. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

4. Son Quang

Son Quang New Member

Hello Keith,
    Great to be here. I read many of your posts before. Can you give me advice about my light for my tank, is it enough? Thank you

5. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

No need to use CO2 while using the dry start method. Attached you will see diagram of a clever way to do a DSM and keep the humidity high.
    [​IMG]
    The range in quality of LEDs is so wide it is just really hard to tell if a light is sufficient or not unless you know of lots of good instances or it is a reputable brand.

I cannot say if the light is enough right now or not. Since this is a DSM, it is even harder to say. It also looks to be very early. How long has it been planted?

Attached Files:

keithgh likes this.
  6. Son Quang

Son Quang New Member

Hello ShadowMac,