1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Light Diffuser for Fluval Spec 5

Discussion in 'Lighting Requirements' started by Ricardo K, Feb 26, 2016.

1. Ricardo K

Ricardo K New Member

Hello everyone:

I need some assistance in choosing a material to make a light diffuser for my Fluval Spec 5.

I use a 16" Finnex Fugeray Planted Plus light and it just puts out way too strong a PAR for that tank and the plants I have.

Consequently I have been fighting algal bloom for several months and have grown tired of pulling out my spiderwood, washing it off, replanting my swords and hair grass, using algaefix literally every other week, turning over the substrate (eco-complete).

Hoping a diffuser layer will bring down the PAR levels enough to let my dwarf hair grass grow, and to replant new flame moss and still allow my swords enough light.

Ideas?

2. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

Shade cloth may work over the tank as long as it is not too close to the light where heat may be an issue. You could also try some water moss or amazon frogbit floating on the top to reduce the light. These are not as messy or bothersome as the smaller floating plants.

Does it have a dimmer function? The Fluval aquaksy lights have one. I've actually found them to be decent little LEDs for the price. I'm running mine at about 75% for a low tech without CO2 (although I just added CO2 because why not if I have the gear). At 100 % and without the floating plants it would be too much and cause algae.

What type of algae are you getting?

3. J Art

J Art Aspiring Aquascaper