1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Iwagumi attempt

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by Eboeagles, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Eboeagles

Eboeagles Aspiring Aquascaper

I've been very reticent of posting any pics of my first Iwagumi attempt because I'm still a total newbie and can just about keep the hardy plants alive! But I was desperate to have a go as they were what got me into this hobby in the first place.

So down came my jungle style first ever planted attempt (you can see this in my evolution of the edge post if your interested) and in came this after weeks of demo hardscapes. Its now been running from the 10th March and so far not bad...

Comments and critiques welcome please.

I initially tried UG for a small carpet in the centre (around the Edges good light area) but after initially thinking it was doing well (it seemed to spread and grow) it started melting. This was my third attempt at this plant so I just pulled it out.

Specs wise:

Fluval Edge
    Fluval Edge Filter
    Newattino Plus Heater
    ADA Amazonia 2 (only in the central area) capped Argos play sand
    Dragon stone
    CO2 injection 24 hrs 1 bps (Im currently using TMC expert set)

Flora:
    Mainly...
    Eleocharis Acicularis
    3 or 4 stems of Blyxa Japonica
    4 pads of Round Pellia (I think)

Im also in the middle of trying some HC I've grown emersed on small lava rocks & a couple of pads of fissidens

Obviously due to the constraints of the Edge I have always planned to concentrate the planting in the centre with a lot of space at the front and sides. My main inspiration came from George Farmers Project Scree Iwagumi.

So here we are - I've recently chopped the grass hard so it will spread and I have a lot of runners so once this has recovered I'll post up to date pics.

10th March - Hardscape in
    [​IMG]

Pellila in
    [​IMG]

Planted & filled
    [​IMG]