1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Hulllllllllooooooooo

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by Vandal Gardener, Mar 9, 2017.

1. Vandal Gardener

Vandal Gardener New Member

A big warm hello from Edinburgh,

I have been keeping fish for nearly two decades, gone through the stages of addiction - just one more wee nanotank-itis to sickening myself when my Juwel Rio 240 had detached from the external heater and flooded pretty much 3/4's of the capacity when I was at work.

I decided to get back in to the hobby at the end of last year as I've been neglecting my parents tank (a dreaded Trigon 190 which I actually like but now understand how much of a pain it is to try to aquascape since it seems to break all the rules/conventions re golden ratio etc) it has spent the last few years in a poor attempt at using the theories that Diana Walstadd (apologies about spelling feeling lazy) about natural light and low tech crypts and java ferns, anubias and the obligatory java moss and riccia from previous years enthusiasm.

So now I've got my armpits wet again I thought I'd return to ASW since it was one of the only and best aquascaping sites from the last time I really was enthusiastic about aquariums (2008 ish).

My line up of equipment is pretty much the kit that came with the trigon except I upgraded the pump to 1000 l/ph and added an Eheim 2322 thermofilter. CO2 is just about managed via yeast and sugar DIY being fed through an ebay diffuser although I'm not sure if using a spray outlet with CO2 attached to venturi is more effective way of getting it in the tank. 2 x 28w (6500k, 9000K). Tropica plant substrate over 2-3" 1-2mm gravel and Tom Barr's PMDD dosing of dry salts.

Anyway I'm getting a bit carried away with the details it's only a howdaydo :)

John Whatmough and Tim Harrison like this.
  2. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

Vandal