1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Hey guys welcome from australia!!

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by Joel, Jan 17, 2011.

1. Joel

Joel New Member

Hi guys!:hi: The names joel im a newbie whos always been inlove with aquariums.

i have a 120litre fish tank and im sick of the artificial ornatments and plants im looking to further my knowledge in aquascaping to start myself off..

ive been reading up and learning about aquascaping and still learning the basics to start off a planted tank i havent started yet but i need the basic help to get myself started, to help me out with the nutrients and ect needed to setup a first timer tank :Happy:

thanks

Sponsored link:

2. Joel

Joel New Member

it would be appreciated if you guys could give me a tip on were to start and any information relavent please and thankyou once again :)

3. Shadow

Shadow Moderator Staff Member

In my opinion everything start with light. How many watt of light you currently have on top of your tank? Some plant may not grow if the light is too dim.

4. Mojojojo

Mojojojo Aspiring Aquascaper

As someone who has only just started out myself I can advise looking at plants first. I had this great pic in my head of what I wanted and then found out almost none of the plants would grow in my tank because my hardware just wasnt suitable. If you have a look at the kind of planted tank you want check out the plant requirements before starting anything (Substrate,CO2,Light etc). Having the right setup will save you alot of frustration later on. Any of the guys here will be able to advise on plants and such (Except me cause Im a newb and my latin is rubbish! :p)

Good luck mate

5. Joel

Joel New Member

thankyou for the advice guys :)
    i dont have any lighting for my fish tank yet :S
    i dont no what type of light to look for should i go for a LED? Halogen?