1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Help: Corydoras Pygmaeus lower or higher ph

Discussion in 'Fish' started by Cip, Mar 14, 2016.

1. Cip

Cip Aspiring Aquascaper

Was wondering what is best for corydoras, lower range of ph or higher range, from what I've learned they go ok between 6.4 - 7.5 pH, I have 2 establish tanks, 30L and a 45L, the 30L one has ~7.6pH and the 45L has ~6.2pH,
    because I'll buy like 10 of them I incline to the 45L one.

Maybe someone can advise ?

Thank you much!

Sponsored link:

2. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

Cip

pH I would try to keep it as neutral as possible, they also have other recommended requirements a minimum of 40+lt and a good clean sandy substrate.

As to how many per tank I would check with http://www.aqadvisor.com/ as a good guide.

Keith:cat::cat:

3. Cip

Cip Aspiring Aquascaper

I studied all the articles, also that tool is great, I've used it at the beginning but it's just theory. You can have an overstocked tank if you are on top of your maintenance and also you have good biological filtration.

Corys can have a wide range of parameters but I guess it depends on where do you get them from. The guy from which I'll get the corys keeps them in 7.5pH, if I get them and put them in a neutral water, is that a good thing ? I mean it's a difference of 0.5 which translates into 100000 less alkaline than the water that they are used to.

Correct me please if I'm wrong with my rookie thinking.

So the question is should I risk keeping them in a 6.2pH or go on a safe route and keep them in a 7.6pH ?

Thank you much Keith for your advices!

4. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member