1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

hello there

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by scapegoat, Feb 11, 2014.

1. scapegoat

scapegoat New Member

Hey,

Swinging on over after hearing the ScapeFu podcast. I can grow plants, but I can't aquascape very well, so I'm here to learn.

I've been in the hobby for a few years now and have a high tech 125g w/ sump conveniently located in a wall. Here is a slightly older gallery documenting the build process: http://imgur.com/a/jwssM#0

and here http://i.imgur.com/Jn6vs4R.jpg is a more recent, but not so super recent picture. I'm not happy with the way it turned out and am planning on a redo during the spring... a more "island" style scape located closer to the left overflow.

I'm also a web programmer and decided to combine my love for websites and programming with my love of fish tanks. I decided to solve a little problem I have... forgetting to do things. so I'm looking to automate my aquarium.

Now video below is a little "older" and doesn't showcase everything I've got done. at this point my controller can schedule 6 outlets to be on/off or on/off based on temperature. I can schedule 2 peristaltic pumps to pump once a day a specific amount of liquid in mL. so effectively, this is going to handle my lights, co2, and fertilization dosing. I have 2 float switches that I'm wiring up to further control a pump to top of sump when low.

my original goal with my fish tank was an african biotope w/ african community fish. Finding the right plants, in abundant numbers for a 125, has proven difficult. so at this point I just want a jaw droppingly gorgeous planted tank w/ african community fish.

keithgh and greenfinger 2 like this.
  2. Ian

Ian Aspiring Aquascaper

Hi Scapegoat,