1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Hello from Perth Western Australia

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by wafinns, Mar 16, 2010.

1. wafinns

wafinns New Member

Having worked the best part of 30 yrs in the Aquarium industry in Perth Western Australia I now work in the building industry Yey for Monday to Friday jobs . I have a young family and run Aquatic plants direct from my home hothouses it costs more than i make As im a serious plant collector as Western Australia has the strictest Quarantine laws in the World. So Im always after new species to grow here in Perth . I cant even get plants from other states but if i get it from somebody giving it to me i can grow it provided it is not on the noxious list a picture of one of my hot houses is below
    Darren.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    :welcome:

2. Jurijs mit JS

Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

wow :%3

I would love to give you some, but I´m afraid they wont survive the shipping from germany ..

by the way, welcome to ASW :welcome:

3. CHUNTC

CHUNTC New Member

:welcome: Neat hothouse you got there. In Brunei, it is hard to get aquatic plants too so I then to convert some land plants into aquatic plants with sme sucess.^:)^

4. wafinns

wafinns New Member

Importing Plants into Western Australia

Hello everybody.

The real reason you can not import aquatic plants into Western Australia except by strict quarantine rules is the fact that they are trying to prevent the liver fluke snail crossing the border suffice to say that the snail is already here but the parasite is not there is a list of permitted imported plants subject to a 2 hr copper bath and 4 week period of isolation in a series of chemicals to kill the snail and eggs but this is toxic to all but the hardiest of plants.