1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Hello fellow fanatics! New here!

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by Will, Oct 10, 2013.

1. Will

Will New Member

My name is Will, and I am completely new to aquascaping. My first tank was African Cichlids about 6 months ago, and man were they fun. But today I want to talk to all of you regarding my new finding...aquascaping. I love the art and freedom, as well as growing live plants under water, just fascinating. My tank is 29 gallon, 3ft long. I had LED on there earlier but realized that wasn't going to grow anything. It did grow algae in my cichlid tank though.

I cycled my tank with bacteria. I am using sand and an inch of soil which one cannot see. I have a pump pushing water and that is it. I am going a completely natural take on this ecosystem I am establishing. No Co2 either... I do not want to hear criticism on that point...It is something I want to try for myself..but! I would love to know what you all think of the current setup! Should I move some plants? I am thinking of plants in the rear center.

Also, I have CFL lighting as my lights...Again, I am trying it, and have seen some serious GREAT success with CFL alone. But I am wondering if the same wattage applies? Should those be 2 40watt lights?

Thanks a lot! Here is a picture.

Attached Files:

• 047.JPG
      047.JPG
      File size:
      1.6 MB
      Views:
  2. greenfinger 2

greenfinger 2 Active Aquascaper

Hi Will, Welcome to ASW:) Great you have done some research first (y) I like your scape layout too maybe move the red plant on the RH side over to the LH side with the other red plant ;) But a great start

3. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

Hello Will

First welcome to ASW can you fill in your location please.

Does that mean no filtration or heater?