1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Hardscape help

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by raf25, Mar 7, 2016.

1. raf25

raf25 New Member

Hi guys, I'm working on setting up my 6 gallon tank. I wanted to get some opinions on my current hardscape before I moved forward! I have a bag of Aquasoil powder that I want to use to make the slope a bit higher, and also fill in between the rocks so I can plant Monte Carlo throughout and in the foreground. I'm thinking maybe a plant like blyxa for the background. [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sponsored link:

2. J Art

J Art Aspiring Aquascaper

Newbie here so take with a grain of salt....

I like your rock formation a lot. I feel the driftwood sort of takes the scale away though. I can definitely see what you're doing and how the shapes of the wood and the rock go together...there's just something that clashes about it and I can't quite put my finger on it.

I'd probably vote for removing the driftwood if you keep the rock formation as is. The monte carlo will compliment it really well and you'll have a whole lot of scale going on in such a small space.

If you keep the driftwood, the rocks may have to be re-positioned to fit the scale of the wood. Right now it seems to be a battle of elements.

Others may know how to tie them together better though....

ShadowMac likes this.
  3. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

raf25

Welcome to ASW

[​IMG]

Looks like you are off to a good start.

A few points for you to consider.

Make the Substrate level across the front.

Make the back LH & RH corners higher.

The twiggy pieces of DW at the front look out of place and are rather distracting to your over all Aquascape.

Just a few points for you to consider.

Keith:cat::cat:

4. raf25

raf25 New Member

Thanks for the swift replies!!