1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Hair algee .... help with NPK dosing?

Discussion in 'Algae' started by 1101cody, May 10, 2010.

  1. 1101cody

    1101cody New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey everyone been awhile since I have posted but I am still checking out everyones beautiful tanks.

    I have finally finished my planted tank and its been up for about two months. I am having a neverending battle with hair algee and have been spending about an hour a day pulling it out of my tank per day.

    I am currently using flourish nitrogen,potass,and phos

    I am running a 10 G setup with this light Coralife 20" 96 Watt Quad Aqualight Compact Square Pin

    I have eco complete as my substrate.

    Any tips to help get rid of this algea? I dont really have any good photos as I only have my blackberry with a 3.2MP camera on it.

    Hope your able to help!
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. Shadow

    Shadow Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Singapore
    96Watt probably too much for your tank size. If you new to this hobby, you might want to try lower wattage. 24W or 36W come in mind.
     
  3. PeterB01

    PeterB01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Agree with Robert, PLL 36 Watt is more than enough
     
  4. Jurijs mit JS

    Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Germany
    do you use pressurized co2?
     
  5. 1101cody

    1101cody New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    I have DIY running right now and keep that at a good rate.
    I am fresh out of school and buying multiple lighting fixtures really isnt what i was looking to do, I planned to start with this tank then move to a 20 gall that is significanntly more verticle than horizontal (no measurements right now on me as im at works sorry).
    I know that the C02 is necessary to fight off the algae i am thinking or running two diy set ups as I have an extra diffuser and plenty of CO2 tubing.

    it is not an excessive amount of Hair Algee, here is a photo after about two weeks of being planted. sorry about the quality it was taken on my Blackberry. it really seem to only be an issue on the cuba.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Jurijs mit JS

    Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Germany
    aaah, dont worry
    increase co2, do some more water changes and it will be gone ;)
     
  7. 1101cody

    1101cody New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Perfect thanks for the confirmation. Hopefully i will be able to upload some pictures soon that are better quality to show my tank once I am satisfied with how everything is looking.
     
  8. Jurijs mit JS

    Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Germany
    however you should reduce your lightning power, how long is your lightning period per day? how many bulbs are in this lightning fixture?
     
  9. 1101cody

    1101cody New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    i am only lighting for 8 hours a day right now due to the strength. Its a single bulb but it is four seperate tubes for the lighting.
     
  10. Shadow

    Shadow Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Singapore
    single bulb with 96W, it must be specialize Coralife bulb. With that amount of power, you need to keep up the nutrient level (NPK, trace and CO2).

    Problem with high light intensity is plant will grow faster, including algae. You basically have less margin of error, a bit of mishaps and algae will take over.
     
  11. 1101cody

    1101cody New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Yea thankfully I am no where near being over run right now i am able to stay on top of it. I have increased my CO2 last night and have been doesing the aquarium regularly. I hope the extra C02 will help out. I will keep you posted and put up some better pictures of the tank soon.
     
  12. ozrot12

    ozrot12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bbsr
    עוזרת בית

    Hi
    Increase co2 there is show many problem in hair.עוזרת בית
     
  13. CHUNTC

    CHUNTC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brunei
    Hi Cody, I had the same problem before but I had to travel and when i return I noticed that new plants actually sprouting from the (I thought hair algae) but they were new roots from the tips of my java Ferns. But I did have your problem before with other plants. I was advised to take the plants out and wipe it with Flourish Excel. I did that with a water change and the problem is gone. try it, it might help.^:)^
     
  14. SuperWen

    SuperWen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Indonesia
    what caused hair or thread algae:
    - exceed micro nutrients, especially iron (>0.15ppm)
    - high nitrate levels (>10ppm)
    - poor water management / water circulation
    - too much light

    how to remove:
    - reduce amount of fert
    - do water change everyday for couple weeks
    - reduce light
    - put lot of amano shrimp
    - manual removal with toothbrush
     
  15. plantbrain

    plantbrain Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    California, USA
    If it's micronutrients and NO3, then where is my hair algae after several years and dozens of tanks???
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Going back 15 years here in photos.........light too much?
    We can rule that out, it does make management harder........but that can also be falsified.

    This leaves most too little ferts and not enough CO2 that's consistent.
    Not much else has not already been falsified multiple times already.

    Does not say what causes algae, only what it does not.

    Most folks can induce algae easily with messing with their CO2 system.
    Much less so with ferts, easily with adding more and more light.



    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  16. hamza

    hamza Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    India
    This is an awfully good scape, where can I see the FTS?
     
  17. SuperWen

    SuperWen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Indonesia
    ^:)^

    very honour to get your enlightenment..
    and i'm your big fan :D
     
  18. CHUNTC

    CHUNTC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brunei
    Algae, algae and algae. If there is only one sure way of getting rid of it, all aquascapers would enjoy their hobby more. But the challenge is there. Never ending. One has to be careful to keep the water, water and lighting right. One small mistake and you are there in algae Paradise. If someone can invent some liquid to add in the tank to get rid of Algae he will definately be a millionaire. Another "BILL GATES" will be born. Who will it be.^:)^
     
  19. yumewhiz

    yumewhiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Chuntc Pour the liquid and algae free...hmm this will unbalance the mother nature, then make universal damage.

    like pouring bleach...but all the living thing gone. LOL
     
  20. wearsbunnyslippers

    wearsbunnyslippers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    @hamza - you can find the original thread here
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: