1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Hair algae issues!

Discussion in 'Algae' started by deanc8159, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    So I've been away from home for a week. And returned to this
    [​IMG]
    I'm assuming the cause was too much light?
    I left strict instructions to allow 6-8 hour light (my LEDs are very bright) and feed every other day.
    Firstly what us the best way to remove hair algae from between plants without uprooting them?
    And what's do I need to check to prevent it in future? Nitrates and light?
    Thanks
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. Asthaparhim

    Asthaparhim Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    Maybe with some more information about your tank people are able to help you easier.
    • Whats your tank size?
    • What filter do you use?
    • For how long has your tank been running?
    • Do you use a timer on your lighting?
    • You use co2?
    • What substrate do you use/do you use any?
    • Fertilizers?
    • What led lighting you use?

    Whenever I had algae in my tank and asked for help I got adviced this website which can be helpful to you too: http://www.theplantedtank.co.uk/algae.htm

    For now I should clean the glass and try to remove as much algea you can and do a water change. I always use a toothbrush to remove hair algae

    I had algae in all my high-tech scapes, after my 5th scapeI finally managed to win the battle:D

    Good luck with it and don't give up ;)
     
  3. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Thanks for the reply. My tank log is here: http://www.aquascapingworld.com/index.php?threads/My-Tank-setup.8544/

    Size:48litre
    Filter: eheim Ecco 130 (recently setup)
    Running: I'm not sure :/
    Timer: not yet, working on arduino timer
    Co2: no :(
    Substrate: Aquasoil (forget what brand)
    Fertilisers: none have been doses while I was away
    Lighting: custom LEDs (10*3w neutral whites) (4*3w royal blue)
    ***only run the White LEDs at the moment

    I'll go check that link, I try remove it but the hair algae gets between all the plants making it tricky. And we'll the shrimps don't have a clue what to eat haha

    Thanks, pfft I've POURED way too much money into this hobby to give up (see what I did there) :p

    Thanks
     
  4. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,655
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    deanc

    As as quick boost I would do a good 30% water change every day, no light or food for a week it will not kill the fish at all.

    While doing this check your feeding, lighting and fertilising programs.

    I have never had a problem like that.

    Keith:):)
     
  5. Solcielo lawrencia

    Solcielo lawrencia Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    CA, USA
    The tank looks newly set up. There's probably way too much light for a non-carbon supplied tank. Either 1) reduce light, 2) add a carbon source (i.e. CO2 or glutaraldehyde/excel), or 3) do both.
     
  6. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Thanks.

    Keith, will the lack of light cause the plants any issues?
    Also what amount of light would be recommended? I might just desolder a few of the LEDs make it 18w or something?

    Solcielo, are liquid co2 worth it? Or is there a decent budget co2 setup worth it for a tank this small?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2015
  7. greenfinger 2

    greenfinger 2 Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Likes Received:
    3,677
    Location:
    London
    Hi Deanc, With algae between the plants use a cotton bud. it gets into all the little places ;)
     
  8. Solcielo lawrencia

    Solcielo lawrencia Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Plants have minimum light requirements that varies among species. If you aren't adding a carbon source, plants would require the least amount of light necessary. Otherwise, algae can take advantage of the extra light leading to outbreaks.

    Carbon is another fundamental necessity and is the most significant nutrient required by plants. The algae outbreak was probably not caused by lack of fertilization but a lack of a carbon source. Limiting carbon results in limited growth and health. Adding glutaraldehyde would be sufficient in many cases, though some plants are noticeably sensitive to it and will die back upon exposure.
     
  9. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Thanks, so cutting down light intensity or length it is on would be more effective?

    Also I researched glutaraldehyde. And from what I've read I'm not sure I want that (it is toxic?)
    Is there any other carbon sources I can use?
    Thanks
     
  10. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
  11. isla

    isla Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Reunion Island
  12. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    [​IMG]

    Dropped water to 25%
    gave everything a good scrub. Boiled the wood and rock. Removed as much algae as I could get (there's a bit at the back and side I could we get without stressing the fish and shrimp)
    I've put a thick towel over the tank now. Will keep it in darkness this week and do water changes

    Thanks for the advice
     
    greenfinger 2 likes this.
  13. Solcielo lawrencia

    Solcielo lawrencia Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Assuming that the plants have new growth in the pictures, there's obviously a lot of light based on the short internodes of the Rotala's.

    Glutaraldehyde is a biocide in high amounts. It's used to cold-sterilize medical equipment and flooring. It's also the active ingredient in Flourish Excel. In small concentrations, it provides a carbon source for plants as it breaks down. In high concentrations, it will kill plants, animals, and microbes. The other carbon source alternative is carbon dioxide.
     
    greenfinger 2 likes this.
  14. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    All the plants have new growth. They keep popping up new stems etc. my crypts are insane at multiplying I could split them really often if I had somewhere to put them all haha

    I went for the carbon that I linked. Contacted the seller who confirmed it contains glutaraldehyde, so I will have 2 litres of the stuff, do I need to add it gradually to allow shrimps/fish time to climatise? And like with the ferts dose in the mornings?

    Thanks :) hopefully all this pays off :)
     
  15. Solcielo lawrencia

    Solcielo lawrencia Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Just add the minimum amount to begin with. It should be added daily for best results. It has a half-life of 24 hours so half of it breaks down in that time.
     
  16. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Thanks for the advice. Just a quick question you mention half life, if I remember right from my physics lessons. Half-life is associated with radioactive material? Dies that mean this is too?

    Thanks
     
  17. Solcielo lawrencia

    Solcielo lawrencia Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Glutaraldehyde is not radioactive. Half-life just means the rate at which a chemical degrades by half.
     
  18. MarcelM

    MarcelM Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Netherlands
    :) If you made a light fixture with high power cree leds, you might consider the use of a dimmable powersupply (controler) so you can adjust the led output instead of keep soldering leds on and off to find the right intensity. :) Than put also a timer on and your good to go with the lights.
     
    sushant and keithgh like this.
  19. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,655
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Marcel

    Sounds like good advice especially about the timer.

    Keith:):)
     
    MarcelM likes this.
  20. deanc8159

    deanc8159 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    England
    That sounds like a good idea marcel, I'm just not sure what I'm looking for with a dimmer?
    I think I have the balance about right now. Just a matter of timing, I also have a timer.

    [​IMG]

    That's how thins are currently looking, I'm still not happy with the hard scape but the plants are growing very well now.
    My next job is finding some nice shrimp friendly fishes

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: