1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Gathering Info. Your input is needed

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by Ange, Apr 20, 2016.

1. Ange

Ange New Member

Hey guys,

So I'm new to everything that is aqua plants and scaping and I'm just trying to gather some highly needed information about the best brand of aquariums to use, lighting, filters, etc.

I want to set up an aquascape as a present for my father and I'll be starting from scratch. 5-10 gallons would be the size range I'm going for ( 6 preferably ).

as for the plants and thing inside the tank, nothing too advance would be good.

Any advice on plants and styles for small aquariums would also be HIGHLY appreciated.

2. lucasgg

lucasgg Active Aquascaper

Eheim makes great canister filters, just make sure to get the classic line. I'd start with a driftwood setup.

3. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

Has your father kept and aquarium before? What type of work would he be willing to put into the tank? Aquascapes require more care than standard plant-less aquariums. A tank with a few nice easy to grow plants could keep maintenance at a minimum.

I hate to be a naysayer, but sometimes giving pets or living things as gifts really mean handing someone work and responsibility. Is he game for that? I know this isn't what you asked for...just making sure you have considered it.

A very easy minimal work aquascape would have a sand substrate with some driftwood and anubias tied to the wood. Low light would be good.

DoAqua tanks are nice and less money than the rimless low iron glass tanks.

ADA tanks are some of the best you can get and aren't overly spendy at the small sizes. The difference between the DoAqua and ADA is the use of higher clarity low iron glass.

A simple small tank wouldn't be tough. Here is my list of equipment for you: