1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

First timer.

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by HenrySheehan, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Tomorrow I plan on setting up my bin and start building up some giod bacteria in my filters. Going to run it for around 8 weeks. As per Zeus instructions I'll be adding fish flakes and urea once a week.
    That's about it then. Waiting game.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
    Zeus likes this.

    Sponsored link:


  2. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,723
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Henry

    Not saying that does not work. All I every did was a double dose of Stability. When using any of the ADA substrates it requires a different water change methods and your tank should be fully cycled under 14 days. I have used another product must be kept under refrigeration before and after its opened, a tank can be fully cycled in 3-4 days.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  3. Culprit3

    Culprit3 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've always just done a fish in cycle with TSS+ (Tetra SafeStart +) I've done it with rummynose tetra which are notoriously sensitive and never lost one. I was cycled in 2 or 3 days. Never saw any ammonia/nitrite. NItrate showed up immeaditly.
     
  4. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    The biggest filter we have in our tanks are the plants. Hence starting with a high plant biomass is a massive help

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
    kabriolet and Culprit3 like this.
  5. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    If I could get this yoke to prime I'd be happy!!! At this over an hour and neither filter will prime for me.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
    Culprit3 likes this.
  6. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Just stick the hose pipe into the filter hose and purge the air out. It's not like it's going to reduce the bacteria in the filter media ATM

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  7. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Sorry now. Are you saying stick the out hose into the in hose and turn it on?

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  8. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Sorry my mistake. Use a garden hose pipe and mains pressure. Or in you case well water

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  9. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Thanks, will give that a go.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  10. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    I take it you filled the canister with water then fastened the top on it. On my filters that does the trick and it starts straight away when power is on.

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  11. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Only for you.

    Ya I filled the canister then just connected the tap to the filter hose and boom.
    Will I have to do this after every canister clean? Bit of a pain that the started button doesn't work.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  12. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Yes and no
    Yes if you have empietd the filter and no water is in the hose.
    No if your hose has a tape on it, I just slowly open the inlet tap with the return fitting off, put finger in return hole slowly letting the air out till full, turn inlet off, fit return hose open them both up switch on.
    Normally on WC day I save two buckets of used water then after cleaning filter media, fill the canister before refitting it to the system. Pain in the but job as tight fit. I would advise cleaning the filter very frequently with a high tech tank. We are force growing the plants which can use X10 the nutrients of a low tech tank, therefore that's up to X10 the by-products of plant growth eg toxins.
    Think some of my algea issues are because I didn't clean the filters enough at first, then it's a long road to recovery.
    All different makes of filters are different to prime OFC
    But you soon get the hang of it

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  13. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    God that all sounds like a pain in the ass. As you said I'll just hold onto the water and refill the canister.
    'No if your hose has a tape on it'?? Can you explain what you mean by that? I understand the rest of what you're saying re turning off the return fitting.

    Very frequently as in once a month or more often?

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  14. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    The inlet and return hoses on my Fluval FX6 have shut off valves. Auto correct changed tap to tape!
    How much is frequent enough, too frequent has no side effects, not frequent enough leads to issues. You will be surprised how quick the filter is to clean, you get fast at it. My FX6 is heavy and bulky and tight space, hence a pain.


    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  15. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Bleeding auto correct
    I was wondering what tape you were on about!!!

    Least you've only the one filter to clean

    Whatever about cleaning it I'd like to be able to hook it back up without much fuss.
    Like you said, 'we get good at doing it', I suppose.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  16. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    If I was starting my tank again I would clean the filter more and have the CO2 maxed out ignoring the Drop checker, no pH controller as the pH changes and so does the calibration of the probe, which leads to fluctuations in [CO2] which confuses the plants slows growth and algea can start which takes time to clear. So pH pen get the injection rate right to maintain a constant pH drop and have it dropped fully for lights on. But that's experience plus reading threads of the right folks OFC

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  17. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Interesting you mention the ph controller, I was just reading up on it last night!
    Tonight's reading will be about the ph pen so. I'm still not 100% on the workings of Co2. Thankfully George Farmer is coming to Dublin next Saturday to Seahorse Aquariums where I intend to bombard him with questions.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
    keithgh and Zeus like this.
  18. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    So I've all my pipework ready for the tanks arrival. [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
    kabriolet and Zeus like this.
  19. Zeus

    Zeus Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    I take it the banks of valves and returns on back wall are for underfloor heating -Very nice.

    You may have an drain for the expansion tank on the hot water system, which it drops into occasionally when the pressure gets too high. The same pipe would be perfect to use for your drip feed overflow from tank IMO
    If that room had one wall backing onto the wall your tank was it would be perfect for housing the filter, CO2 and ferts etc

    Sent from Mountolympus via neural interface
     
  20. HenrySheehan

    HenrySheehan Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    IE
    Ha ha, nothing gets past you. Yip that's my plant room, unfortunately it's not near the wall where my tank will be.

    Not far off now. [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
    Culprit3 likes this.

Share This Page

Sponsored link: