Early Stages of First Ever Aquascape

Discussion in 'Critique My Aquascape' started by dowheim, Oct 14, 2010.

1. dowheim

dowheim New Member

Hi All,

I am relatively new to Planted Aquariums but have instantly fallen in love with the hundreds of Beautiful Aquascapes that are out there. I must admit I started off very unprepared for the amount of work and equipment that is necessary, I am also a little disappointed with my first layout.....I guess I expected a Takashi Amano after a few weeks! ;)

Some Constructive Critisism of my first attempt in this Rio 125 would be much appreciated. Bearing in mind I have an external filter on order along with various fertilisers. So far I have DIY CO2 and a pretty poor 600L/H Temporary Filter.

[​IMG]
  2. John N.

John N. Administrator Staff Member

I have to say you're off to an excellent start. You have great lines (triangular both with the driftwood and stone arrangement). There is also a good sense of depth as a result.

In my opinion, things that are missing from this layout include:

- Healthy, mature plants.
    - Balance on the both left and ride sides (the right side feels heavier because more driftwood).
    - Texture. By this I mean the largest of the plants (Amazon Sword in the center) has only flat bladed leaves which simply blend in with the flat appears of the rocks. As a result, for me, it makes the aquascape feel...well flat. Don't get me wrong, this impression may change as the (all) plants mature and develop, but as it stands there is no real texture to the aquascape besides the lines from the driftwood and the hardscape.
    - Sense of height from the leveling of the substrate.

-John N.
  3. Dabrits

Dabrits New Member

It sure beats my first scape!!!

I really like the sand, it was probably the first thing that caught my eye. For some reason though, I don't really like the rock placement on the left side, but I don't really have solutions on how to make it look better.

Overall good job!
  4. CHUNTC