1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Do I NEED to run the fans?

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by dougz, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. dougz

    dougz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    mackenzie, BC
    The fan that came with these 54w T-5 strips:

    http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA...urrentusanovaextreme482x54wt510000kfreshwater

    Is quite noisy..

    One going is not TOO bad, just a mosquito like hum..

    But 2 going, and you need to raise your voice to be heard..

    Do I NEED to run them?

    I won't be covering them with a canopy or anything..
     
  2. goalcreas

    goalcreas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I think you don't need to.
    Try without them on and as long as it is not too hot to hold you should be fine.
    If it is too hot to hold, then turn them back on.
    Maybe do a test and see how hot it is with them on, then turn them off and see if it gets any hotter?
     
  3. dougz

    dougz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    mackenzie, BC
    Yup, that sounds reasonable enough, thanks!
     
  4. John N.

    John N. Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    California
    T5's typically run cool. I know a few people who have that particular fixture (and the Current CF fixture) who are running them without fans. I think the risk you run is wearing out the bulbs a bit quicker then normal because of the heat.

    -John N.
     
  5. dougz

    dougz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    mackenzie, BC
    I guess I could put them on a timer..

    Turn on after 3 hours, run for an hour, go another 3 hours till they turn on again..

    I'll experiment.. :)
     
  6. ColeMan

    ColeMan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    you could always retro-fit a quieter fan; people do it all the time using the same fans (80cm?) used to cool computer CPU's...IceCap also makes a temp. sensitive fan you could use, or you could invest in some type of controller (like an AC Jr. or RK or something) and have your fans/lights turn off/on to maintain proper tank temps...just some suggestions...

    But I'd say to maximize bulb life (and subsequent intensity) using the fan at least a few hours a day (right around a noon light-burst or whenever the hottest part of the day is for your tank) is important, though not as important than if you were running CF's.
     
  7. dougz

    dougz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    mackenzie, BC
    Well, I could also just turn the fans off the few times I actually would like quiet in that room (not very often at all).. :)
     
  8. Pat7676

    Pat7676 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Jackson, Mississippi
    I have these with my light. I used to not run them it made the strip run a little to hot for me. So i started running them yeah they are a little noisy but you get used to them quick now i don't even hear them at all.
     
  9. dougz

    dougz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    mackenzie, BC
    Yeah, I guess I'll be fine running them and just turning them off on the very few occasions when I'll be in there with company or something..
     
  10. Pat7676

    Pat7676 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Jackson, Mississippi
    Yeah i have done that as well. Most times when company comes over and i leave it on they never say anything.
     
  11. dougz

    dougz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    mackenzie, BC
    I can put them on their own power bar, and have them both off with the flick of a switch..
     
  12. Pat7676

    Pat7676 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Jackson, Mississippi
    Sounds good. I should set mine up to do the same thing.
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: