1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Diving in headfirst

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings' started by Jared, Oct 1, 2009.

1. Jared

Jared New Member

Hello all,

Up until a few days ago I had never owned an aquarium, let alone grown aquatic plants. But then I saw my first Amano aquascape and I knew I was hooked. Now I'm growing 4 species of plants with CO2 and 2.4 watts/gallon and marveling at my lovely school of tetra and my feisty Amano shrimp. I've got a lot to learn and I'm looking forward to receiving the collective wisdom of this forum.

Please have a look at my current setup and give me some input, keeping in mind that I am an absolute newb-fish.

[​IMG]
    Starting Point: 10 gallon tank, Lumino DX 24 watt, Nutrafin CO2 System, 6 Brass Tetra (Hemigrammus armstrongi), 6 Silver-Tip Tetra (Hasemania nana), 3 Amano Shrimp (Caridina japonica), 3 pots Dwarf Hairgrass (Eleocharis parvula), 1 Variegated Dracaena, 1 Syngonium sp., 1 Unknown grassy plant, 3 Rocks

Thanks!

-Jared

Sponsored link:

2. SamH

SamH New Member

Hey there, I'm new too. A full tank photo would be good for a sense of scale. Firstly, I'd take the hairgrass out of the pot and split it into bunches of 4 or 5 blades, perhaps giving them a trim down to 2".

3. Jared

Jared New Member

SamH,
    Thank for your input. Today my hairgrass got a haircut. I haven't removed it from the pots yet for 2 reasons: 1) my fish seem stressed at the moment so I'm trying not to disturb them too much; 2) I'm not sure where to plant it!

I would be grateful for any suggestions on the layout of my plants. It seems like a big step to plant the hairgrass, especially considering how difficult it was for me to plant the other, larger plants.

Next time I'll take a photo of the whole tank.

Regards,
    Jared

4. Jared

Jared New Member

Here's a post-haircuit, full aquarium shot:

[​IMG]

5. SamH