1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Creating Hills/Mountains

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by SinCrisis, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. SinCrisis

    SinCrisis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi All, I was wondering if anyone could give me tips on creating a mountain-like/hill look in a small 5g tank? I was hoping that it would look like a hill with rocks jutting out. However, I am unsure as to what to use as substrate under the rock? I wanted to use sand, but i am afraid of the sand loosening and the eventual collapse of the scape and of compaction and anaerobic conditions forming under the larger rocks. Is there a technique in forming that kind of scape? I have seen similar ideas used before, but am unsure of how to set it up.
     
  2. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    i have seen someone use a nylon stocking (pantyhose) filled with quartz gravel. his post with pictures is around this site somewhere... I have done the same twice to help hold up my slopes, but filled them with regular fishtank gravel.

    I would assumer larger granules are best so that water can flow through easier.

    I like the nylon stockings method. Very easy to work with its like a flexible rock as the base.
     
  3. wearsbunnyslippers

    wearsbunnyslippers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
  4. SinCrisis

    SinCrisis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks! I will give this a try. I normally hate anything artificial in my tanks, even if its hidden, its a weird pet peeve, but i think that this method with the stocking is the best way to get this done. Do I have to worry about the stocking breaking apart in the future? I am hoping to not change the scape for at least 2 years. Thanks for the tip!
     
  5. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    I don't know how long it lasts. The first setup I've used it in has only been going for 6 months or less.
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: