Converting Reef Tank to Freshwater planted tank

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by fusiller, Sep 6, 2011.

1. fusiller

fusiller New Member

Hi all,
    I am new to aquascaping world and I hope to learn lots and also contribute in anyway I can to this community.

A little history:
    I have a 3 feet planted tank for about 3 months now. 36x18x18
    Actual aquarium space is 2 1/2 feet with the other 1/2 feet being internal over and under flow system (IOUS Tank)
    I'm using riversand mix with aquarium soil as substrate
    I have a chiller due to where I'm located without one temperature would be in the 31 degrees celsius range.
    I have co2 running at about 3 bps.
    Light are 2x39 watts 10000k t5 for 7 hours
    And 2x18 watt 6700k t8 for 5 hours in between.

Everything is working fine with healthy fauna and pearling plants

Recently my friend pass me his marine tank with sump.
    A 4x2x2 with a 3x1.5x1.5 sump.
    There are some salt creeps in the tank(the sump is fine though)
    Will a thorough rinse be enough for me to use it as planted tank (with some salt creep stains still in tank) or
    Do I need to clean and soak in diluted vinegar and scrape off whatever salt creep I can reach before it safe to be used as planted tank.

I have google for answers but most result is showing how to clean salt creep but I wanna know wether some salt creep is safe or not.

Thanks
  2. randy0319

randy0319 Aspiring Aquascaper