1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Co2 advice for a complete noob

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Wendy1B, Jan 26, 2017.

1. Wendy1B

Wendy1B Aspiring Aquascaper

Hi, I am looking at taking the leap into my first Co2 tank. I am wondering, do any of you know of an online article or resource which is a Co2 info source for a totally ignorant newbie to the Co2 world? I really know nothing about the practical application of Co2 and what I will need to purchase to make it work, but I have a strong desire to learn. To give you some idea of what my Co2 needs will be: I'm looking at setting up approximately a 20-35 gallon tank 'high-tech' with Crystal Red Shrimp, a shoal of peaceful fish, heavily planted, with some demanding plants. I only have experience with a low-tech setup.

2. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

SHAWN where are you?

Keith:cat::cat:

ShadowMac likes this.
  3. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

Hi Wendy,

20-30 gallon with a 20"x 20" footprint? A tall tank? One challenge of a tall tank particularly for CO2 injection is the high volume to surface area ratio. You need good surface gas exchange in planted tanks, it is even more important with CO2 injection as the injection shifts the equilibrium and a good surface ripple and fair amount of surface area improves stability and oxygen supply.

A couple resources:

ASW magazine article on CO2 injection

The Aquascaping Podcast has two episodes on CO2 injection

Scape Fu may also have some information, but the old website is no longer up. You can find Scape Fu on I-tunes.

A quality regulator and needle valve is important, they ensure stable injection rates. The method of diffusion may depend upon whether or not you decide to build a sump and how you do it.