1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Co2 65 gal

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by jordimex, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    I have a 65 gal tank with 4 angelfish 4 german blue rams and neon tetras its somewhat planted and was looking for some advice into pumping co2 my water parameters are all in 0 and as for PH it is at 7.6. Have some amazonian swords and baby tear mats but they seem to be having a bad time any advice on pumping co2 already bought the insta co2 kit thank you
     

    Attached Files:

    keithgh likes this.
  2. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    keithgh likes this.
  3. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,723
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    jordimex

    Great I am sure a member can assist you quicker when posting it here.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  4. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Hi Jordimex,

    Are you in the US? If so I'd recommend a GLA system. http://greenleafaquariums.com/

    They just updated the designs to further improve them. I still have their two of their original models running strong after many years. A good CO2 system will last a lifetime.

    If you are abroad or looking for something cheaper (and of reduced quality) you can also check out CO2 art for a reg. You can get cylinders are local welding shops, etc.
     
  5. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    http://www.istaproducts.com/product/co2-aluminum-cylinder-supply-set-1l-professional/ this is the one i am using i read reviews that it is pretty good
     
  6. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
  7. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    mine did come with a solenoid
     
    keithgh likes this.
  8. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    i have it set up to turn on 1 hour before my lights turn on and turn off an hour before they go out, also bought a co2 checker have been playing with the output and finally was able to keep it on the green all day
     
    keithgh likes this.
  9. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,723
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    jordimex

    Looks like you are slowly working through your Co2 system.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  10. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    Yes indeed Keith little by little
     
  11. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    all of this after thoroughly reading about Co2
     
    keithgh likes this.
  12. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,723
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    jordimex
    Many forum newcomers do not realise constant research is a very big part of today's fish keeping and Aquascaping.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
    jordimex likes this.
  13. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Glad it has a solenoid. That is crucial. Is it this one? http://www.istaproducts.com/product/co2-controller-vertical/

    That should work, I do not know how well the regs deal with change in canister pressure as it enters. Watch for changes in the bubble rate to see how well things hold and how much you should trust it over time.

    How big is the cylinder of CO2? For a 65 gallon tank I'd recommend a 5 lbs to 10 lbs CO2 cylinder so you don't have to replace/refill frequently.


    The drop checker is a good starting point, but also use your observations to see if you are getting good healthy growth.
     
  14. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    yes indeed thats the one
    i will be checking for that
    this is what the canister says IMG_7754.JPG IMG_7756.JPG
     
  15. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    okay, custom cylinder from ISTA. just curious. Thanks.
     
    keithgh likes this.
  16. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    is it good enough?
     
  17. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,723
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I would recommend every morning when feeding your fish do a check of your water by looking at it to see if every thing is working perfectly, smelling it and testing the temp with your finger, don't forget to check all your fish general health etc. Now you will have the Co2 to check including the plants.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  18. jordimex

    jordimex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Aventura
    Definitely have seen some improvement with my plants also i try to test the water every day and as of now everything is working out great
     
  19. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,723
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    kjordimex

    Once you get into a routine it will have it done while you are feeding your fish.

    For those few seconds it could save you many hrs of work/cost if something is not working correctly.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  20. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    yeah it will work, you just might run out in 2-3 months or sooner given the smaller size.
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: