1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

BigAL's 60cm mountain peak scape

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by BigAL777, Apr 13, 2016.

  1. lucasgg

    lucasgg Active Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Likes Received:
    599
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
    @BigAL777 my current setup started similarly to yours in terms of planting. I barely had any plants. I turned my lights off for 2-3 days every time I saw algae. It allowed me to buy plants later (from Shawn) and avoid algae.
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    This may sound rather strange I never saw big algae in any of my start up could be because I planted heavily from the beginning.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  3. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    There's nothing wrong with the flow of my filter. The reason I angle it is because the lily pipe is angled to circulate the water in the upper half. I just angle it so the tiny co2 bubbles hit the plants on the bottom.
     
    ShadowMac likes this.
  4. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL777

    OK I was just double checking.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
    ShadowMac likes this.
  5. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    The Xmas moss came in today, looked kind of sad and was on a huge rock, I didn't expect such a large rock, so I had to burry most of the rock to hide it. I'll take a photo tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2016
  6. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL

    Did you buy it sight unseen?

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  7. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    Yeah kind of, a reputable dealer on eBay. It did not arrive dead or anything, I just expected it to be more....robust?
     
  8. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL

    Complain loud if you are not happy.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  9. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    Diatoms are gone, but nothing else is really happening. I change a gallon of water out every day before I add ferts.
    I have my small canister filter in this tank as well, I want it to be running before I attach it to my 10g to keep all the good bacteria alive.
    IMG_20160525_131545115_HDR.jpg
     
    keithgh likes this.
  10. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL

    Keep us updated please.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  11. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    I'm probably going to tear down my tank, it doesn't grow plants and looks like ass
    IMG_20160604_132616584.jpg
     
  12. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL
    What will this achieve?

    My suggestion would be establish why you plants are not growing.

    To help you solve this concern open a new topic "Plants not Growing why?"

    Have a full water parameters done for your tank and water supply also, post every detail about your tank, substrate, filtration, lighting type hrs on/off age, Co2, ferts used quantities/often and naturally the plants.

    It could be more than one concern causing the plants not to grow.

    It can be solved by slowly deducting all the good details first.

    Its nothing but a simple "Problem Solving" issue.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
    ShadowMac and BigAL777 like this.
  13. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    While I do agree with you, it's ugly lol. I just want to have a nice carpet of plants on the substrate, no stones, I'll throw some dw in there. I would like to keep some shrimp and maybe use it for an isolation tank or fry tank.
     
  14. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL

    Unless you find what is causing your plants not to grow it will always be the same.

    At least try first.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
  15. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    I'm with Keith, I think you need to determine why the plants are not growing and try and solve the problem. Judging by the algae on the rocks I'd say you have enough light. This is probably a CO2 and light imbalance.
     
  16. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    Not sure if my co2 is getting to the carpet plants. I've angled the outflow to be directed downward, but then there isn't enough current to circle the tank. Also I'm worried the surface doesn't get enough movement either. I rehoused my 2 Corry's in this tank and they may be messing with the roots a little. I did also have a few cheap 19ยข shrimp, but my filter was not set up for shrimp.
    I have used the ista max mix as my only means of diffusion to this point, I own two inline atomizers, but haven't used one yet. I took the rocks and dead plants out of the tank already, I really needed to get the algae off the stone. I am not really sure how feel about the max mix. I find myself checking to make sure the propeller is spinning twice a day, I hate that.
    After listening to the aquascaping podcast, I decided to at least try an in tank diffuser. I'll keep you posted when it comes in, I'll try to get the flow set up right to accommodate the diffuser. I also ordered a bag of aqua soil amazonian powder, I kind of want to rescape anyway, I'll start looking for some nice DW pieces at my LFS. I feel like I failed this tank by not reinforcing the slope. I did it with my last tank, but tried something different, so a constant shifting of a slope would result in no rooting I believe.
    I've been using eco complete since its easily available to me. During the big diatom breakout I had, I cleaned out my old 10g tank and as I was taking the old substrate out, there was a lot of leftover black sand. After cleaning it I put it on top of the plants and eco complete and covered the diatoms, they didn't grow back.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2016
  17. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL

    There is nothing wrong wanting to rescape the substrate levels are OK just work on your hardscape but get every thing fixed first.

    For shrimp all you require is a sponge filter over the filter inlet its as simple as that.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     
    BigAL777 likes this.
  18. BigAL777

    BigAL777 Aspiring Aquascaper

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    York, Pennsylvania
    Yeah, I just didn't have the surface skimmer top on, they got sucked up in the big hole, I found them after I cleaned the filter. The Corry's are in an airated bucket right now, I'm thinking of moving them to the 10g.
     
  19. keithgh

    keithgh Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    BigAL

    When I added fish I always turned the light off and turned it back on next morning.

    Feeding half the quantity for the first 2-3 days.

    Many will say that is not required OK as far as I was concerned they always settled in with no problems at all.

    Keith:cat::cat:
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: