1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

    Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

    Join the ASW community now!

    Dismiss Notice

Bastian's "Rippling Creek" (update: 20-11-2009)

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by Bastian, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    One week ago I have started scaping my new 80x45x45 (cm) Tank. I wanted to share some pictures from the aquascaping proces and all other preparations I made. This is my first serious tank I started but I read a lot on the internet and got some experience with a smaller tank from 3 years ago.

    I start with describing the technique I installed.

    2x Eheim 2213 (Biological filtration) Out flow and inflow both lily pipes at each side of the tank.

    Electronic temperature regulator (25 degrees celcius).

    Full automatic PH measurer and regulator.

    Lightning 2 x 70watt HQI 6000k

    The substrate I used.

    ADA Power Sand M
    ADA Amazonia
    ADA Amazonia Powerd
    With additives Bacter 100 and Clear Super.

    Plants used.

    Utricularia Graminifolia
    hemianthus callitrichoides
    Limnophila aromatica
    Rotala rotundifolia "green"
    Versicularia dubyana (flame moss)
    Microsorium split narrow

    Here are some pictures from my aquarium and the ADA knock off stand (home made).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Sponsored link:


  2. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    In this post I listed all steps from the aquascaping proces I went through.


    1. 9 - Square rule and determine the place of the small river.

    [​IMG]

    2. All used substrates (I didn't used Orinoco and Xingu yet).

    [​IMG]

    3. Layer of ADA Power Sand M on both sides and Sand in the middle.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    4. Added some ADA Bacter 100


    [​IMG]

    5. Also some Clear Super


    [​IMG]

    6. ADA Amazonia on top and a little bit more sand in the middle.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    7. Get rid of the cardboard =)


    [​IMG]

    8. Added some stones and wood.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    At last some pictures from the technique I used. And a frontal picture of the Tank.
    1 week had passed since I planted all plants relisted. I'm not completely satisfied yet. Some plants aren't showing big improvements. Utricularia seems a bit white and small.
    In 2 hours I'm going to see what the phosphate and nitrate amounts are and see if I can adjust it a bit. Soon I will buy soms test so I can relist all my water values. Tips for Utricularia and all plants are ALWAYS welcome!! =)

    And sorry for my bad english but it takes too long if I check my grammar in each line haha!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Greets,

    Bastian
     
  4. Jurijs mit JS

    Jurijs mit JS Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Germany
    something you should better do in the future: use a mesh between powersand and aquasoil ;) rescaping this tank you will understand why :D

    right hand side looks a bit empty right now, is there something in the back that will grow higher? Accept this I like the scape, looking forward to see this growing in.

    Tips for UG: is doing better in gravel than in a nutrient rich soil, Arelav is our UG Guru, so ask him of you whant to know more :)

    :proud:
     
  5. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Indeed should have used a mesh. Too bad I realised that a bit too late haha. Will ask Arelav from some tips than! Could use it =)

    And I was hoping that the UG was growing a bit higher in the right side, so it will even it out a bit.
     
  6. J House

    J House Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    That's an impressive setup. Should look great once it grows in. Easily on the lights and ferts first few months. What kind brand light is that?
     
  7. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks =) Lights are on 6 hours a day at the moment and my ferts are Green Brighty Step 1, Green Bacter and Easy Life easy carbo. Thinking of dosing phosphate and nitrate this week aswell.

    I don't know wich brand it is, nothing on it. I bought it in a normal store in Germany (not special for tanks etc.) and I'm hoping it will work out fine. Else I replace the 6000k bulbs for other ones special made for aquaria. If you PM me I can give you the link.
     
  8. tirtha1979

    tirtha1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Impressive scape. Will wait to see how it grows.
     
  9. Shadow

    Shadow Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Singapore
    Nice scape indeed.

    The light should work just fine.
     
  10. skaner

    skaner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slovakia
    i liked this tank while it was empty, as it offers loads of options
    i am not a big fan of sand-rivers in hardscapes and this setup did not change my mind completely. just partialy - the hardscape is amazing. the wood looks great. also the stones are nice
     
  11. James Marshall

    James Marshall New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    London
    That's a great scape, thanks for the step by step guide, very useful.

    Cheers
    James
     
  12. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'm not a big fan of sand rivers either, but I want to turn it into a real looking river with different kind of material. Will do this when all plants have grown in.

    I just noticed my ph was 7 and it should be 6,75 so I looked on the manometer and it shows zero bar pressure. So my 500 gram Co2 cilinder is empty in one week!!! :O Is that normal? Hopefully my tank will hold it till I got a new cilinder tomorrow.
     
  13. Shadow

    Shadow Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Singapore
    That is not normal, maybe there is leakage somewhere. Howmany bps you inject to the tank?
     
  14. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I never checked the actual BPM, because it's fully automatic. So it's not really neccessary how many BPM I got. Whenever the PH rises above 6,75 it will turn on the Co2 system.
    But the way I put my diffusor in the tank wasn't good enough to dissolve the Co2. Lots of Co2 went into the air.

    Today I bough a new Co2 cilinder from 6kg, and replaced my diffusor by a lower one and have put it under the filter intake. Hopefully I can do a little bit longer with this 6kg one =)

    Maybe it was a small leakage asswell, but I have tighten all things up a bit, so im hoping it won't occur again.
     
  15. Shadow

    Shadow Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Singapore
    You can use soap bubble or shaving cream if you want to find leakage
     
  16. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yeah shaving cream is a good one =) Will keep that in mind. Thanks!

    Greetz,

    Bastian
     
  17. echofish

    echofish New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    los Angeles, Echo park
    Really nice set up. Those lights are great looking. I've never seen anything like that in hardware stores around where I live.
    Keep us posted
     
  18. Bastian

    Bastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'm trying to post a few pics again when my "Brown Algea' (diatoms) plagua is over. I'm having problems with brown algea for a week now and I think it's because of to high phosphate in my water, but refreshing with normal water doesn't work that good.
    So I bought a RO system, will get it soon. Than I start refreshing with RO water hopefully the brown algea goes away than :(
    If someone got some tips, they are always welcome!

    Greets,

    Bastian
     
  19. echofish

    echofish New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    los Angeles, Echo park
    In my experience that brown algae (diatoms) is/or can be just part of the process of a new tank and it settling in and cycling. It has happened to me when starting a fresh tank.
    Water changes often and Nerite snails love it. At least when i had that problem those Nerite snails did an amazing job at cleaning things up.
    Good luck and be patient.
     
  20. echofish

    echofish New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    los Angeles, Echo park
    maybe someone with more experience can explain why that happens and how it can be avoided?
     

Share This Page

Sponsored link: