1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Aquascaping Newbie

Discussion in 'General Aquascaping and Planted Tank Discussions' started by Kalli, Aug 4, 2013.

1. Kalli

Kalli New Member

Hello! I'm just getting into aquascaping and am seeking advice on what kinds of plants I can/should use for my desktop tank. I have a 5 gallon Fluval Chi tank that I just got, and I LOVE it! But now I want to do something with it. Nothing crazy, but I was considering sand with some rocks and maybe a plant or two. I have two goldfish that I've had for 7 years, and I have no idea how I've kept them alive for this long, but I want to do better.

I want to try my hand at keeping live plants in the tank, so if anyone can make recommendations, that would be great. I want something not too big that will be okay in low lighting and is not too difficult to maintain that will be okay for my fish that's also pretty. If anyone also has advice about sand vs. gravel, that would also be much appreciated.

Here is a description of the tank, dimensions, lighting, etc: http://www.amazon.com/Fluval-Chi-Aquarium-Kit-5-Gallon/dp/B003TM1BAE (worth noting, the plant box in the center is totally removable)

Any insight would be much appreciated!

Sponsored link:

2. greenfinger 2

greenfinger 2 Active Aquascaper

Hi Kalli, Welcome to ASW Good to know that goldfish doing well :) One Thing Goldfish will eat most plants :( You can try Java Fern, Anubias Nana On some DW With stem plant Egeria densa at the back.Would go with gravel ;) goldfish are messy plus sand would get in there gills :) Others will know more ;)

3. Kalli

Kalli New Member