1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Anybody knows what these are?

Discussion in 'Fish' started by MikeHaupt, Mar 26, 2016.

1. MikeHaupt

MikeHaupt New Member

Hey guys,

I saw some of these yellowish-white round spots on my tank and I thought they must be snail eggs or something - so without doing a proper research I pinched them out of the tank two nights ago (about 6).
    Screenshot_2016-03-26-06-31-56.jpg

Yesterday, while doing my water change I saw three of these fellas swimming round the surface. Are they killifish fry? And are the round thing on the tank, eggs?

Screenshot_2016-03-26-06-32-16.jpg

You see, none of my lampeye killi seem to be pregnant. They're as slender as I first bought them only longer. :/

I'm new to having a planted fish tank and so far I've got tremendous response from the ASW mods.

Hope you can help! Thanks!

- Mike

:)

2. lucasgg

lucasgg Active Aquascaper

I'd catch them and place them in a separate holding tank, just for safe measures. But if they are lampeye killi fry, could you make some money selling them??

MikeHaupt likes this.
  3. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

If you are keeping Killi fish, my bet is that is what they are. Killifish will lay eggs in moss usually and after a period of time they will hatch. Some killi eggs need to be dried out before hatching. I've found the fry easy to care for and they tend to grow up without much need for intervention or even special food. Feeding micro worms or other fry friendly foods will definitely help with their survival.

Not many fish will lay eggs on the glass. Snails do all the time, but those look like gel sacs with little white spots in them.

MikeHaupt likes this.
  4. keithgh

keithgh Moderator Staff Member

upload_2016-3-27_15-3-19.png

Mike I enlarged as much I could and still visible.