1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Algae trouble in new tank

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Ryan77, Oct 5, 2016.

1. Ryan77

Ryan77 New Member

I picked up a tank second hand and stripped the plants out. Changed the tank layout and Replanted but its struggling with algae.
    I put fast growing stem plants in (on the left) to try to stem the algae growth as apparently this is a good idea. The larger plants on the right are covered. I'm thinking of chucking them out and putting more fast growing plants in that corner as well until the MC has taken and the algae has settled. The MC is brown in places but the new growth is strong and green.
    Ada aquarium around 20l at a guess.
    2213 eheim filter
    Co2 injected through diffuser
    Livestock is around 20 shrimp and 3 tetras.
    I'm only new to the hobby and any advice greatly appreciated.
    Cheers
    Ryan [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. ShadowMac

ShadowMac Moderator Staff Member

You didn't mention your light. What type of light and how much? How long is it on for?

Most algae occurs when there is something not allowing plants to grow their best. Either insufficient CO2, insufficient flow, too much light, or a combination.

I wouldn't throw out the plants on the right. They are stems and you can cut away affected portions without losing the plant.

How old is the tank? how long has it been running setup?

Is your CO2 pressurized or DIY? From the picture I do not see many bubbles coming from the diffuser. You are likely short on CO2.

Do you have a drop checker to help guide you in estimating your CO2?

Take some time to read around and learn. Plenty of helpful articles in the ASW magazine links despite being old. The learning curve can feel a bit steep, but progress and improvement isn't far away. You can also take a listen to the podcast in my signature...might help too.