1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

Advice and Opinions from experienced fish keepers.

Discussion in 'Fish' started by BrianS, Feb 12, 2015.

1. BrianS

BrianS New Member

Hey everyone I am new to this aquascaping and fish keeping hobby. I have been doing it for a year and I still have alot to learn I figured joining a form can help. I started with a a 10 gallon tank with a gravel substrate. Got some juvinle tiger barbs, serpae tetras, and a small sucker fish with fake plants. Then I moved up to a 40 gallon tank after I didn't kill anything and learned a little bit. In my 40 I put my tiger barbs (3) my serpae tetras (3) and (3) mixed fruit tetras. Then I added (3) pictus catfish and a juvenile pink tail chalceus. Still gravel substrate. Yesterday I tranfered my fishes to a 55 long tank with sand. Now I have a school of 5 fish each (mixed fruit, serpae tetras, and tiger barbs) 3 pictus catfish, 2 dojo loaches, 1 rope fish (ordering one more tommarow), my pink tail chalceus, and a 9 inch common pleco oh and a redtail shark. I am trying to heavily plant my tank. Any suggestions. I have 2 plants I bought from petco. A fake piece of wood for the rope fish and dojo's to hide during the day. I was looking to get some real wood that looked like mango grove roots. (real if possible) I was also looking to heavily plant the tank next week. Any suggestions. All the fish seem to get along just fine I keep the water between 71-75 degrees.

I have been feeding a mix of fish flakes, dried shrimp, little granuels, and live foods (crickets, various worms) to my bottom feeders, with the occasional pieces of beef. (The pictus catfish, pink tail chalceus)