1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

A Reefers Journey into Planted...

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by CalmSeasQuest, Jun 23, 2012.

1. CalmSeasQuest

CalmSeasQuest Aspiring Aquascaper

Greetings all,

I'm new to ASW and to planted tanks in general. After having spent a few days perusing many of the phenomenal tanks showcased here I'm both excited and hesitant to share what I'm sure will be a carefully crafted series of newby mistakes :)

For the better part of the past twenty years, I've kept reef tanks, mostly SPS. As did many, I got my start in aquaria with freshwater tanks. In my case it was 55 gallon tanks with Oscars and Jack Dempsys in my bedroom some 40 years ago. While I was certainly aware of planted tanks, I never really paid much attention, that is until a couple of weeks ago when I stumbled across Takashi Amano's builds at the Sumido Aquarium in Tokyo. These were different. While I knew they were an incredible and complex undertaking, they instilled a calmness and serenity that I found irresistible. I truly love my reef tanks, but I HAD to try this.

I have a few Mr. Aqua 12 longs and stands on hand that I had purchased for other reef builds that I imagined would provide nice proportions for an Iwagumi -style build, so I started my research which inevitable led me to TPT and many others 12 long builds. Enough of the backstory - Here's a compendium of the last couple weeks to get the project up to date...

I'm using a Mr. Aqua Elm stand stained ebony (just a hint of grain) and finished with Minwax Helmsman Spar Urethane - Satin. All equipment will be hidden in the stand with only the clear drain, return, top off and CO2 lines visible.
    • Tank - Mr. Aqua 12 Long (36" X 8" X 9")
    • Lights - 23W TrueLumen Pro 8,000K, R2 LED Moonlights
    • CO2 - Aquarium Plants Carbon Doser, ADA New Pollen Glass