1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

A Fresh Start

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Beagle, Jul 23, 2017.

1. Beagle

Beagle Aspiring Aquascaper

Hello everyone,

After a long break from having tanks up and running (due to finishing school among other reasons), I am finally going to get back into the hobby! With a very different approach... lots of planning!

I'm planning on starting small since I'm still a super beginner -- with a 5 gallon cube Mr. Aqua tank. Long term goal is something along the lines of a low-tech jungle/natural type tank, focusing on healthy plant growth.

Basic Specs:
    5 gallon cube tank
    Light: Finnex LED 10" (4 watts/7000 K)
    Substrate: still undecided, was leaning towards something by ADA because I've never used anything aside from sand/pebbles
    Fauna: most likely a single betta -- nice and hardy, good for the small tank size (and have never gotten shrimps to live for me)
    Flora: I really enjoy anubias species, and aside from that I'll be aiming at easy-keeping beginner plants (duckweed to maybe help cut back my light, java fern, maybe some ludwigia for a pop of some color?)
    Filter:

Below I have tried to share a few pics of the basic set up and the pieces I have to play with (I also have some additional seiryu stones aside from ones pictured, but was planning on making the driftwood the majority of the hardscape).

I guess my main reason for sharing at this point it to get some input on 1) any suggestion for substrate, 2) thoughts on what plants I talked about in combo with my light/low-tech plan and combating algae (has been a big problem for me in the past), and 3) general thoughts of hardscape for something more natural/jungle? aka mix of these two items or just stick to one?

Appreciate any and all input. Glad to be getting back into this hobby!

http://imageshack.com/a/img923/6118/xCRlvc.jpg