1. Welcome to AquaScaping World!

Become a register member to get FULL SITE ACCESS AND BENEFITS.

Join the ASW community now!

Dismiss Notice

20L Low-Tech

Discussion in 'Aquascaping Journals' started by ptiJo, Jan 7, 2013.

1. ptiJo

ptiJo Active Aquascaper

Hi,

I'm really new to fish tanks ; I started in Sept 2012 because my daughter asked for a Betta Splendens. After setting "her" tank, I started "mine". I'm a big fan aquascaping and "natural" tanks ; I don't want to add "chemical" product nor technical filter, etc...

So this is my second low-tech tank : about 20L ; 50x17x25cm. Ground using "Sable de Loire" and white Quartz, pieces of wood called "Asia" on the website I ordered, Ohko stone and "easy" plants : Vesicularia Ferriei Weeping Moss, Eleocharis sp Mini, Vallisneria Americana Mini Twister.

Light is provided during 10H per day from a LED bar (Lumivie SJ).

First, I did change 50% of water every week. Then slowly decreased as the water remained more and more "healthy". To add nutriments and CO2, I have a bunch of Daphnia pulex, Physa, Planorbella and Asellus aquaticus. I also added Neocaridina heteropoda 2 weeks ago.

So far, it runs pretty well. Here's a quick sum'up of the first days of the beast :)

Day #1 : White, grey and brown.
    [​IMG]

Day #2 : A touch of green.
    [​IMG]

Day #30 : Needs of bit of triming.
    [​IMG]

So, what you think? :)

greenfinger 2 likes this.

Sponsored link:

2. Scapeofaqua

Scapeofaqua Aspiring Aquascaper

Hey! I myself am not an expert, far from. But i guess you posted this to get opinions and feedback so here it goes :D
    First off you got some sweet looking wood right there ;) Never heard of it :D
    Secondly you made this 'valley'/'street' (however you may call it) in the middle, which i like, it gives some depth. It realy does'nt show the real depth of your tank, 17cm, which is not easy to scape i've heard. So good job! :D Only in the last picture it seems like the 2 substrates have mixed?